We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely stay at this charming...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chough's Nest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We had a lovely stay at this charming hotel. The owners Rose & John are so friendly. We were given a kingsize bed in a seaview room; the view of the sea & cliffs were breathtaking and the room was spotless. We had a dinner bed breakfast deal & the food was delicious. Service was prompt too. We'll definitely come back here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaM0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed on a Friday night during Lynton's festival weekend and despite noisy jazz evening at the next door hotel we had a splendid time. The owners, John & Rose who are lovely hosts, run the hotel with their three daughters who are very knowledgeable of the local area and suggested some walks for us to try. We went on a walk that afternoon, up Countisbury hill (very steep!!) and then onto Watersmeet and had well-deserved cream tea by the river.

Our room was large with a great view across the sea and with a huge kingsize bed. The bathroom was new and we had two big towels and the owners even supplied me with a spare toothbrush after I had forgotten to pack mine.

Rose is also the hotel's chef and what a great one she is too! We both had the stilton cheese souffles which were delicious and I had the salmon whilst my husband had the Aberdeen Angus beef which he said was cooked to perfection. The desserts were just as tasty – I had a homemade creme brulee with fresh english strawberries and for him, a sticky toffee pudding.

The breakfast menu offered a good choice with fresh orange juice, proper slices of butter (not those skimpy portion sizes) and a fantastic Full English with black pudding and we even got a croissant which was baked fresh that morning. What I liked was that breakfast is served straight to the table, rather than having a “buffet style” which was great as it meant that no one was wandering around the restaurant whilst I enjoyed my cereals.

All in all it would be difficult for me to fault this hotel as it exceed both mine and my husband's expectations. We had a lovely time and I wouldn't think twice about booking again although not when the festival is on!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma_taunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chough's Nest Hotel. This was our second visit our first being made just after Rose and John took over in 2006.

It was lovely to experience and see the many improvements that they have made. Our bedroom was pleasantly decorated and furnished . The super-king bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom was new and spotlessly clean, with a hot powerful shower.

The lounge and dinning room were also decorated in a style much more in keeping with this lovely Victorian house

Although the weather was bracing, the open fire in the lounge and the central heating kept us nice and cosy, and we enjoyed our drinks and nibbles before dinner each night. The choice of food and cooking was excellent especially the double baked souffle.

We would highly recommend the Chough's Nest Hotel both as somewhere to stay and as a base for touring Exmoor.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOZZETTE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This hotel has a great viewpoint out to sea and the Lynmouth cliffs. The service though and some of the furnishings, cutlery, carpets etc...are all a bit tired and dated. I have to agree with other reviewers. Overpriced for what we got. Probably wouldn't visit again. Breakfast didn't offer a help yourself style like so many hotels nowadays and the cooked meal was average. Couldn't comment on evening meal. Several service elements suggested that the staff wouldn't go out of their way to help you with any extras.

Noisy nearby hotel didn't help.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choughsnesthotel, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

As the owner and proprietor of this small family run hotel, I am always very concerned when complaints are made regarding the level of service that a guest has received. As we do not employ staff, any short-comings must be down to us.

The guests in question, stayed at the hotel on the Saturday night of the Lynton and Lynmouth Music festival. Prior to their arrival they had requested an early breakfast, due to a filming commitment at Lee Abbey on Sunday morning. Breakfast normally starts at 8.30am due to the fact that nearly all of our residents are on holiday.

We had advised him that this would present no problem and we would gladly serve a cooked breakfast at 7.45am. My daughter and I began preparing breakfast at 7.20am on Sunday morning and I greeted the gentleman and his wife at 7.40am and took their order for breakfast, (two full English breakfasts). On returning to the dining room with the gentleman's toast and tea, I found him searching for the starters, so I quipped that 'in this hotel, we provide a table service and I am here to serve you!'

Perhaps the earliness of the hour prevented him appreciating my style of service, but as an experienced hotelier I am acutely aware of the danger of guests struggling with bowls of cereal and glasses of orange juice before they are fully awake.

I can only state that if the above constitutes poor service and a lack of value for money, then I am at a loss as to what this gentleman expected of a small two star hotel.

Regarding the furnishings and carpet, I know that some of the carpets in the public areas do need replacing. However since purchasing the hotel my number one priority has been to replace all of the bathrooms and up-grade my bedrooms, this I have recently achieved.

Finally my cutlery is Mappin and Webb Empire pattern plate, a traditional design, that does rather lack the informality of stainless steel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The owners of the hotel were friendly and helpful. What I most appreciated was the peaceful room with amazing views over Lynmouth Bay towards Countisbury Point. All I could hear was the gentle rippling sound of a calm sea, and the leaves on the trees below the hotel rustling gently in the breeze. It was so lovely and quiet, that I was suprised to meet other guests in the dining room when I went down for a late breakfast !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Pros and Cons
Cliff top location and views
Clean and nicely presented
Old fashioned and rather dated
Difficult access up long steep steps from car park
Service was somewhat too formal

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sknafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Excellent location with sea views. Very clean and well kept. Steep steps up from parking area may make it unsuitable for some travellers. Dinner and service were fine, but we mostly dined in the nearby restaurants because they were livelier. The cooked breakfast was excellent. It's a perfect hotel if you are looking for a small, quiet, somewhat old-fashioned, family-run base in Lynton.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeTreeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chough's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chough's Nest Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £85 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chough's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chough's Nest Hotel is a family-run, cliff top retreat located on the stunning Exmoor coast. The hotel features commanding views across the bay and spectacular views out to sea. High ceilings, a cosy lounge with a roaring fire in the winter and home-cooked cuisine enable you to relax in comfort. All but one of the hotel's nine well-appointed bedrooms feature sea views and all have their own unique character and charm. We offer standard double and twin bedrooms as well as superior double bedrooms and four-posters for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chough's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choughs Nest Lynton
Chough's Nest Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing