We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Lovely Hotel, very friendly and attentive service from both Owners and waitress. Wonderful position, amazing views, quiet but well placed for all ammenities and walks. Breakfast perfect, lots of fresh fruit, luxury yogurts, cereals, frsh orange juice and hot cooked food to order. Plenty of tea, fresh coffee etc. One night had Dinner -delicious. Stayed in both a Superior (3 nights) and a Standard room during a 4 night stay as we booked at short notice and had to fit around bookings already made. Superior rooms definitely best for a longer stay although both had equally comfortable beds and bathrooms. Relaxing lounge and bar with good views. Owners recommended good walks and the local Bistro in Lynmouth.

Room Tip: all lovely views, comfortable beds, superior best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandJHampshire0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
242
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

What a disappointment - we had booked for a 3 night break, having read the "rave" reviews on Tripadvisor and consulted the hotel website. Advertised as "boutique accommodation", we understood that to be a hotel that was individual and of a high standard - how wrong we were. Our room was satisfactory, the newly refurbished bathroom was small but adequate; the attention to detail which should set the Seawood apart from other hotels was missing - no shaver socket, no tissues available, toiletry dispensers which were only partially filled and curtains that had holes in them.
We had booked for dinner on all nights, having read that there was "great cuisine" on offer - starters and desserts were acceptable, but main courses were well below the standard which would be expected of a professional chef. Breakfast was average - shame about the " naff " cereal packets, lack of napkins on one morning and under-cooked bacon.
The single redeeming feature of dining at the Seawood was the polite, efficient and unobtrusive service provided by the young waitress.
Bathrobes do not a boutique hotel make and a 3 day cookery course does not a professional chef make !!
Needless to say, we shall not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joehonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerindag, Owner at The Seawood Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your comments. We really value constructive criticism and will always try our best to exceed our customers expectations.

Seawood Hotel is a privately owned small Boutique Hotel. Since we took ownership in 2009 we have steered the hotel through a major refurbishment including new bathrooms for all rooms, new public toilets, public rooms, sauna and external terrace. The room you booked is clearly marked as a standard room on our website and is priced accordingly. We are sorry if you were disappointed with it. There are shaver sockets, tissues and toiletries in every room. so we are at a loss as to your comments.

This room, like the previous 7 that we have done will be going through a complete refit at the end of this season, bringing it inline with the boutique theme.

Regarding the restaurant, we use the finest locally sourced ingredients. Our chef has 17 years experience gained in London hotels and Kerinda our second chef has attended the residential professional cookery course at Ashburton cookery school and has cooked successfully at the Seawood Hotel for more than 2 years. You did eat for three successive nights by choice . We deliberately keep our food simple so our guests can appreciate the quality of the ingredients. Meals booked at time of room booking are offered at the exceptionally good value of £25 per person for 3 courses and coffee in a new restaurant with stunning sea views. We always try to give our guests what they want and encourage them to feed back to us at the time so we can adjust our offer accordingly. You offered no feedback at all but said your meal was "good thank you"

Regarding breakfast, we will cook bacon to order, soft medium or crispy, please just specify at time of ordering. The breakfast cereals are in individual boxes for hygiene as advised by Environmental Health.

I would encourage all guests to tell us of any problems or concerns at the time. It is impossible to fix things after you have left. You really will not offend us, you will just help us become a better hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We spent two nights in the new suite at the top of the Seawood. Although we arrived slightly later than planned we were made to feel most welcome and were accomodated for supper with ease. The food is excellent and the dining room is fresh, perfectly laid out and has some pleasing art on the walls.

The suite is small but just perfect; tastefully decorated with a beautiful view over the Bristol Channel and the gardens of the hotel to the side. The bed is very comfortable and we had two great nights sleep. The drawing room is light and has cracking views, with a good selection of magazines and the small, discrete bar is well decorated, well stocked and has similar views over the trees to the channel and Lynmouth below. If I was to be really picky I'd say the hallway and stairs could do with a new carpet, but that is a very minor point.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be within easy reach of Lynton and Lynmouth by foot and wants tranquility. The coastal path is also within easy reach by foot. The owners are friendly without being intrusive and are very keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We were not disappointed - far from it.

Room Tip: Go for the suite at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planetonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I don't normally write a review if there are already numerous reviews but just had to thank the owners Russ and Kerinda for their excellent hospitality. Their customer service even extended to asking my husband if there was any special menu requests on his birthday and the request was honoured! We wish them all the very best for a successful future with the Seawood and very much recommend their hotel and dining to all prospective guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

What a super place to stay - great location, spectacular views and a warm, relaxing environment. We'd booked for two days but extended by an extra night as we liked it so much. Evening meals recommended, especially the local Sea Bass. Kerinda and Russ run a fine establishment and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAlexanderWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Very welcoming and helpful hosts, a lovely 4-poster room with an amazing view with two cosy chairs placed to admire it and an excellent large bathroom. Our first visit to Lynton/Lynmouth and we really enjoyed several walks directly from the hotel. The food was excellent, plenty of choice, perfectly cooked and a well-selected wine list and bar to match. Absolutely nothing to fault. We will be looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camelford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Had a lovely restful weekend at the Seawood. Kerinda and Russ are superb hosts and very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. Gorgeous food, loved Kerinda's mushroom starter! Superb sea views. Really enjoyed our weekend away, would recommend to anyone for a relaxing weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrysherry68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing