We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious views”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have just returned from a ten night stay at The Seawood Hotel and we had dinner every night! The hotel is approached from a narrow road leading from the pretty town of Lynton.
Access to the hotel car park and spaces was not a problem.

The views from the hotel are spectacular. In fact we could even see the sea whilst in bed!
We opted for a Superior Room on the top floor which is accessed by a fairly steep staircase. However, Russ kindly offered to take our luggage to our room (and back down at the end of our stay) which was appreciated.

We had a large room with a very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom. Be aware that internet access can be a problem on the top floor but a strong signal was available in the lounge.

All public rooms were comfortable and spotless and housekeeping was very good throughout our stay.

Unfortunately, my wife went down with a viral infection during our stay and Russ, Kerinda & Sam were very kind to her.

The food was excellent throughout our stay. The best scrambled eggs we had ever tasted and plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner.

I can say without reservation that dinner was superb every night, and that's quite something for ten nights in a row! Portions were very good and the quality of the produce and the culinary skills of Kerinda certainly exceeded expectations.

So, is there anything we didn't like? Only that dinner could be more of an 'event'. There is no encouragement to have a drink before dinner, and if you did you were ushered into the dining room before you had finished it. Canapes would also be nice in an establishment of this quality. The Wine List is small but very good and very fairly priced with excellent House Wines.

My main gripe, however, is that there is no dress code whatsover in the evening in the restaurant. I'm afraid that I don't approve of jeans and trainers at dinner and whilst I appreciate that other dinners are paying the same as we are and are entitled to their opinion, I think it is disrespectful to both the chef and other guests not to dress appropriately. I'm not suggesting 'Black Tie' but smart, casual attire. .Maybe I'm too sensitive!

I'm certainly not going to downgrade my rating because of this as the food and comfort at the hotel was exceptional. Deputy Manager, Sam, was never without a smile, but quite honestly service could not be faulted by anyone.

Prices are very fair and this hotel deserves to continue to do well. Would we return? Most certainly - if they'll have us back!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

We returned this year for the thrird summer in a row. We have to say that each time the current owners have made subtle improvements to what was already a delightful place to stay.

This year we stayed in a room that we originally stayed in on our first visit in 2009. The room had been subject to a total makeover, by combining it with an adjacent room a suite had been created with an en-suite bathroom. What is surprisng is that the owners are reducing the quantity of rooms and upping the quality something that you rarely see in the current climate.

As always we were made very welcome including our dog, the whole stay was very pleasant and relaxing, so we have no hesitation in recommending this as a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Returned for our fourth visit and found big changes and improvements in the hotel fabric.
Great welcome from Russ and Kerinda who continue to make great efforts to ensure you have a great stay. We dined in both nights and they were able to cater for two of our friends who live nearby in Lee Abbey. Great views and a relaxing stay, Russ's son Sam a very cheery addition to the scene for whom nothing was a problem. Next time we'll have to sample the Sauna, before retiring to a supremely comfortable bed.
took the open top bus to Minehead and service bus to Porlock Weir on Saturday- invigorating!

Room Tip: Our room had been refurbished and ours on the second floor( No7 I think )though standard had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A family run Hotel in a wonderful, quiet location with sea views from every window. The owners Russ and his wife, Karinda,(sorry if I spelt it wrong), and son Sam, were the perfect hosts and from the moment we first walked in through the door were treated like old friends,and nothing was too much trouble for them. Bedrooms are large with King size beds and tastefully furnished with onsuite bathrooms. All meals were superb and we enjoyed them so much that we decided to eat in every night. The small town of Lynton is only a short walk away.I Would recommend this Hotel to anyone and would certainly return,sooner than later I hope.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just had a 4 day break at the Seawood and once again we had a fantastic time. We visited 2 years ago and since then the rooms have been updated with new bathrooms and decor and a sauna has been installed - oh and also a lovely new member to the "team" has been installed, Sam ( who calls himself the deputy manager!!!!!!). Breakfasts are lovely - lots to choose from, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, museli, kippers, smoked salmon, bacon etc etc. The evening meal was superb - steak cooked to perfection and if you are lucky you will have Kerinda's three times cooked chips and her lemon shortcake square with clotted cream. Sit on the terrace with a drink - if its cool there are heaters - the view is amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them - the beds are very comfy with scrunchy duvets - lovely modern bathrooms - we had a fantastic time and will be back - thanks again Russ, Kerinda and Sam

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Wow. What a wonderful place. Staff, food, location and rooms. Just a really great hotel. Amazing views across the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauljaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a really marvellous stay at this hotel. Russ and Kerinda, the owners, could not have been more friendly and hospitable and we were made to feel very, very welcome from the moment we walked into the hotel.

The hotel itself has fantastic views over Lynmouth - and is just seconds away from the top of the railway so it's very easy to get to Lynmouth and back (I'd recommend a visit to the museum about the flood which was fascinating).

The biggest surprise about the hotel was the food which was out of this world and very reasonable (£28 per head for 3 courses plus coffee). Breakfast was also fabulous and having fresh fruit salad, for someone who is very used to staying in corporate hotels on business, was a real bonus.

The bed was extremely comfortable. The bedrooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom was very stylish.

We would love to come back and experience this fabulous hotel again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locutus2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
1 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £95 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing