We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel in stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for a week in June and had a wonderful time. Russ and Kerinder were very welcoming and really care about the service they provide which a makes a big difference.The quality and choice of breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal.Our room was newly decorated and comfortable. One small problem I had was that the bedroom curtains though matching the decor perfectly were too thin and I was woken up v early by the sunlight. However I rigged up my own 'blackout' and I did have the benefit of seeing the dawn coming up over the sea- quite spectacular.
Would be delighted to stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
241
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Cannot speak too highly of this little gem of a hotel. Russ and Kerinder made you feel so welcome and had a real pride in what they did,
The food was superb and 3 course evening meals great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have just returned from a ten night stay at The Seawood Hotel and we had dinner every night! The hotel is approached from a narrow road leading from the pretty town of Lynton.
Access to the hotel car park and spaces was not a problem.

The views from the hotel are spectacular. In fact we could even see the sea whilst in bed!
We opted for a Superior Room on the top floor which is accessed by a fairly steep staircase. However, Russ kindly offered to take our luggage to our room (and back down at the end of our stay) which was appreciated.

We had a large room with a very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom. Be aware that internet access can be a problem on the top floor but a strong signal was available in the lounge.

All public rooms were comfortable and spotless and housekeeping was very good throughout our stay.

Unfortunately, my wife went down with a viral infection during our stay and Russ, Kerinda & Sam were very kind to her.

The food was excellent throughout our stay. The best scrambled eggs we had ever tasted and plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner.

I can say without reservation that dinner was superb every night, and that's quite something for ten nights in a row! Portions were very good and the quality of the produce and the culinary skills of Kerinda certainly exceeded expectations.

So, is there anything we didn't like? Only that dinner could be more of an 'event'. There is no encouragement to have a drink before dinner, and if you did you were ushered into the dining room before you had finished it. Canapes would also be nice in an establishment of this quality. The Wine List is small but very good and very fairly priced with excellent House Wines.

My main gripe, however, is that there is no dress code whatsover in the evening in the restaurant. I'm afraid that I don't approve of jeans and trainers at dinner and whilst I appreciate that other dinners are paying the same as we are and are entitled to their opinion, I think it is disrespectful to both the chef and other guests not to dress appropriately. I'm not suggesting 'Black Tie' but smart, casual attire. .Maybe I'm too sensitive!

I'm certainly not going to downgrade my rating because of this as the food and comfort at the hotel was exceptional. Deputy Manager, Sam, was never without a smile, but quite honestly service could not be faulted by anyone.

Prices are very fair and this hotel deserves to continue to do well. Would we return? Most certainly - if they'll have us back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We returned this year for the thrird summer in a row. We have to say that each time the current owners have made subtle improvements to what was already a delightful place to stay.

This year we stayed in a room that we originally stayed in on our first visit in 2009. The room had been subject to a total makeover, by combining it with an adjacent room a suite had been created with an en-suite bathroom. What is surprisng is that the owners are reducing the quantity of rooms and upping the quality something that you rarely see in the current climate.

As always we were made very welcome including our dog, the whole stay was very pleasant and relaxing, so we have no hesitation in recommending this as a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Returned for our fourth visit and found big changes and improvements in the hotel fabric.
Great welcome from Russ and Kerinda who continue to make great efforts to ensure you have a great stay. We dined in both nights and they were able to cater for two of our friends who live nearby in Lee Abbey. Great views and a relaxing stay, Russ's son Sam a very cheery addition to the scene for whom nothing was a problem. Next time we'll have to sample the Sauna, before retiring to a supremely comfortable bed.
took the open top bus to Minehead and service bus to Porlock Weir on Saturday- invigorating!

Room Tip: Our room had been refurbished and ours on the second floor( No7 I think )though standard had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A family run Hotel in a wonderful, quiet location with sea views from every window. The owners Russ and his wife, Karinda,(sorry if I spelt it wrong), and son Sam, were the perfect hosts and from the moment we first walked in through the door were treated like old friends,and nothing was too much trouble for them. Bedrooms are large with King size beds and tastefully furnished with onsuite bathrooms. All meals were superb and we enjoyed them so much that we decided to eat in every night. The small town of Lynton is only a short walk away.I Would recommend this Hotel to anyone and would certainly return,sooner than later I hope.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just had a 4 day break at the Seawood and once again we had a fantastic time. We visited 2 years ago and since then the rooms have been updated with new bathrooms and decor and a sauna has been installed - oh and also a lovely new member to the "team" has been installed, Sam ( who calls himself the deputy manager!!!!!!). Breakfasts are lovely - lots to choose from, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, museli, kippers, smoked salmon, bacon etc etc. The evening meal was superb - steak cooked to perfection and if you are lucky you will have Kerinda's three times cooked chips and her lemon shortcake square with clotted cream. Sit on the terrace with a drink - if its cool there are heaters - the view is amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them - the beds are very comfy with scrunchy duvets - lovely modern bathrooms - we had a fantastic time and will be back - thanks again Russ, Kerinda and Sam

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing