We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My Husband surprised me for my Birthday last week with a 2 night stay at Seewood. What a lovely time we had too!. Both Kerinda and Russ made us feel very welcome. We had a lovely view overlooking the Sea, the room was very comfortable.
We had Dinner on the first evening and it was really nice. Breakfast was good too.
We cannot wait to stay again !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecb1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to this charming hotel.We really cannot praise it highly enough, we have stayed at most of the hotels in Lynton over many years and this, for us is easily the the best. Nice people, delightful rooms, good food,fantastic views and reasonably priced.
Lovely!!!
Geoff & Linda
Dorset
27.11.11

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpuryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our friends and ourselves were booked in to an Autumn retreat at Lee Abbey beyond the Valley of the Rocks but stayed at The Seawood for a little more comfort in our old age. It was a great retreat enhanced by the warm welcome of Kerinda and Russ who could not have been more helpful. Their enthusiasm for their "Second careers" was infectious as was the attention to detail and sheer passion on what they are doing. Great sea view rooms, warm snug bar with an interresting wine list to choose from at the end of some great walks; a lovely relaxing lounge complete with a real wood fire and the real bechmark of a good place to stay -- sumptuous breakfasts -- especially the local bacon and brilliant scrambled eggs! Then to top it all when we decided to forgo the abbey food one night and dine in we all decided we could stay lost in this cliff top fantasy for the rest of the winter!

Room Tip: Both the first and second floor rooms offer sea views but the first floor rooms have higher ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue311roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hi we recently stayed at Seawood and have been coming back to this hotel for years!!!!!!! So have met the previoius owners! I must admit it is one of our favourite hotels in Devon. After a fairly long drive we were met by Russ who was very welcoming and carried our luggage to the second floor!!!!!!!! Our room was beautiful clean,airy and a lovely view of the sea!!! We arranged to eat in that night and the food was lovely in fact as good as any 5 star restaurant!!!!!! The owners are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them! I was fairly full with my dinner and decided not to have a pudding, Russ quickly suggested a champagne jelly which was very light and was not on the menu!!! I tried it and it was lovely just what i needed!!!!!! The breakfast was coked to order and all was very fresh lovely!!!! If you do not know the area vey well Russ and Karinda have a vast knowledge and are happy to advise you. We will definatly stay again as this is a really lovely hotel!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view then ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

For our 10th wedding anniversary I wanted something special but modest and quiet and spent a few weeks looking through trip advisor reports. The Seawood hotel is as described by the majority of the comments - the booking was friendly and reliable, the hotel is very good value, the room (Rugged Ball) was very comfortable, lovely views and very smart and cosy/romantic, the welcome and information was great, the breakfast very good indeed. It`s very easy to find, very quiet and has its own car park. We thought this was an excellent hotel in all respects and would have no hesitation about coming back for another stay. It deserves it`s five stars. Thankyou to Russ and Kerinda.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Small hotel but very comfortable and the owners were very welcoming. Stayed in the suite, lovely room, tv in bedroom and sitting area. Great views. The dinner menu was not extensive but was very well presented and tasty. Would definitely pay a return visit.

Room Tip: Try the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and I wish we had been able to stay longer the place has character, fantastic views, friendly staff and great meals. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms and it was spacious and well presented while keeping the old world character, the views from the windows were stunning across the Bristol Channel on one side and the Exmoor national park on the other. The breakfast is freshly cooked and made to order while the dinner menu changes each night and is superbly cooked. Service is friendly as the owners run and operate this small boutique hotel, I would total recommend it for a quiet get away in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoRezSkyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £103 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing