We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, friendliness and hospitality”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, friendliness and hospitality”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a great night at the Seawood and our little for legged friend was treated like royalty, which means that we will definitely be back!! Fantastic place with the best hospitality we have experienced in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
246
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
kings langley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you haven't yet decided where to say you need look no further. The Seawood Hotel is a charming boutique style, family run hotel . It is set in the most beautiful , idyllic cliff top location offering fabulous views over the bay. Our room was very tastfully decorated , the bathroom was very sleek and the beds extremely comfortable . But "Seawood" is about more than just stylish accommodation , its the warm and friendly service given effortlessly by Russell and Kerinda that makes this hotel so special.X Sue, Kings Langley

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueKingsLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My partner booked a surprise getaway trip (so he gets the brownie points for choosing this fine establishment) to this hotel & it was gorgeous. We were warmly greeted & given a tour by the owner of the hotel then shown to our room. We were in the "Ruddy Ball" room which offers dual aspects with fantastic views.
We decided to dine out, so I am unable to say what dinner is like but, if it is anything like breakfast I am sure it is worth it! We ate outside & were served by a very polite young man who was very attentive & accomodating, even going as far as to find out what museli they were serving for me (it was so delicious).
The hotel itself is ideally situated, shops & restaurants are a mere 5 minutes walk &, if you go out the side gate you arrive at the top of the cliff railway which is very handy!
The room itself was well presented & very clean. The bathroom was particularly impresive, although they provided multi-use shampoo/conditioner rather than small bottles of which I am not a great fan - but this is my only (small & personal) gripe!
We enjoyed a very restful & peaceful sleep, the bed was extremely comfortable & large. It was lovely to wake up the next morning to such an amazing view & watch the sun rise. All in all I was very impressed with this hotel - good job!

Room Tip: From what we could see the Ruddy Ball was the best room for not being overlooked by anyone i.e. you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We decided to go away for a few days over Christmas and found the 'Seawood' by chance online. We read the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and thought that it was all too good to be true.After staying at the 'Seawood' we can totally agree with these reviews. Russ and Kerinda are the perfect hosts and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them, we can highly recommend it and will definitely return!! Pip and Bo from Bristol

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tawton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We wanted a short break fairly close to home and selected the Seawood on the basis of the trip advisor reviews - and we were not dissapointed. We stayed 2 nights - Friday and Saturday and had a fantastic time. The owners are really friendly and helpful and the attention to detail really stands out in the hotel. The hotel is an old building but has been refurbished beautifully and the views from the bedroom windows is fantastic. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in a hotel. The food is superb and my being gluten free was not a problem at all - there were choices for the starter, main course and dessert for me. Kerinda also asked the night before if there was anything anyone particularly wanted for dinner the next day. Also really enjoyed talking to the other couples here. This is a lovely place for a grown up weekend if you want to relax, enjoy the views and maybe do some walking along the coast path

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
176 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great location, good food and a really nice room which was well appointed , very quiet with fabulous views over the bay. Service was great as was everything else about this hotel.

Room Tip: We had the suite ,room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My Husband surprised me for my Birthday last week with a 2 night stay at Seewood. What a lovely time we had too!. Both Kerinda and Russ made us feel very welcome. We had a lovely view overlooking the Sea, the room was very comfortable.
We had Dinner on the first evening and it was really nice. Breakfast was good too.
We cannot wait to stay again !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecb1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing