We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seawood satisfies superbly.”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seawood satisfies superbly.”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful 2 day break. Russ and Kerinda were the perfect hosts, from the moment we arrived they catered for our every need. The room was very comfortable with great views over the bay, and the food first class. We stayed with friends who were just as happy with the accommodation, who also had a room overlooking the bay. We will certainly be returning in future to a little bit of hotel heaven!

Room Tip: Beautiful bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OndraeBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
245
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Seawood is a cosy, stylish hotel and Russ and Kerinda are the perfect hosts who really care about your stay with them. This was our second visit and it was great to experience the transformation to the hotel. There is a comfy lounge, elegant dining room and cosy bar area downstairs, all with views out over the Bristol Channel. The bedrooms are large with big comfortable beds and spacious well equipped en-suite bathrooms but it is the view from the bedrooms that are the hidden treasure; Countisbury Head bathed in gold at sunset is a picture you will never forget. The breakfasts are huge with a choice from fresh fruit and cereal all the way up to a full cooked meal, the scrambled eggs are just the best. We also had an evening meal which was delicious and good value. Can't wait to go back and do it all again together with some long walks along this lovely coast.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the better views across the Bristol Channel but smaller windows than those o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one evening!! But will be back, the room the view the food was all fantastic !!! Brilliant hosts !!! The view from our room was of the sea and we could see South Wales. The hotel is in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Seawood hotel is an excellent hotel in a beatiful location (public foothpath to the Valley of Rocks on your doorstep). The owners and staf are extremely friendly, the rooms are very well decorated and the food is excellent. This is the place to be in Lynton!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Re-visiting the Seawood after first staying there on our honeymoon 34yrs ago. We had a very enjoyable 5nights in this lovely, quiet and friendly hotel. We were lucky enough to have some good weather and so were able to enjoy a wonderful breakfast each morning on the outside terrace with very friendly robins, and overlooking Lynmouth bay. Russ and Kerinda were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harding3Thame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a week in May and had a great time despite the cool weather. Russ and Kerinda deserve all the acclaim they get in the reviews and we hope to stay there again in the not too distant future. The hotel has a superb location with some lovely views. Very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 724RogerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here with my mother for 5 nights. Lovely room and decoration. Excellent views even from the bathroom (Room 3)! The hosts (Russ and Kerinda) were very friendly and welcoming. We were made to feel as if we were staying with friends. We dined in the hotel every night as the food was excellent - cooked by Kerinda and presented to a very high standard. I cannot recommend the hotel enough.

Room Tip: The Foreland (room 3) has a large bathroom with excellent sea views as well as sea views from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing