We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven once more”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Heaven once more”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was my third time staying at Seawood. I live in New Jersey so come quite a long way, but it is worth it - even the weather was beautiful. Russ and Kerinda are truly great hosts, and each time I have happily seen all the improvements they make yearly - Seawood is now a perfect boutique hotel and a joy to stay in. Thank you Russ and Kerinda, and yes, hopefully, I shall come back once more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiw-nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    31
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
250
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, starting from when we arrived and no one was there except other guests, who greeted us. It is in a good location, right next to the cable car to Lynmouth. There was no wi-fi in the room (Ruddy Ball) or mobile reception in the hotel, but a day without that is OK. Also missing were bar soap, toilet paper (which I found that in another room down the hall that was unused), and wash cloths, but that is a common problem. There was little shelf space in the bathroom and a very narrow bath/shower combination. There is a very modern light above the sink, turned on and off by a wave of the hand, but you turn it on and off just by using the single tap spigot! There are enough lights and electrical outlets, but none are well placed to use a hair dryer. The bed was probably a Queen size, definitely not a King as advertised, and I banged my knee into the knee-buster bed posts a number of times (they are very low and stick out quite far from the bed). The food was good; the locale quiet, and we had a nice walk out to the Point of Rocks. I probably would look elsewhere to stay the next time if I were to return to Lynton/Lynmouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerindag, Owner at The Seawood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for your interesting review.

Things we can address:

1. If guests are unhappy about anything, eg soap, flannels, toilet rolls or room. Please tell us, we are unable to guess. We would have been able to address all of these.

Soap - we use liquid soap and bath/shower gel as part of our green policy because waste is lower. We have a stock of bar soap if you needed it
Flannels/wash cloths. Most people in the UK prefer to use their own flannels however, we could have supplied if asked
Toilet rolls - sometimes our housekeepers make mistakes, sometimes as you did, other guests can remove toilet rolls from open rooms. We are sorry about this, however, we have an open door policy for unoccupied rooms and if an item is missing, please ask!
Room - We had available super-kingsize bedded rooms. We could have switched your room if you had spoken to us

2. Regarding mobile/cell reception - you did ask - and we gave you free unlimited use of the hotel phone for your calls.

3. Regarding reception, you were left unattended when you arrived for a period of 2 minutes whilst I was helping another guest who needed medication.

4. Regarding wi-fi. We do not advertise as available in the bedrooms. However we have good signal in the public rooms

5. We are an English hotel in England, For the benefit of foreign travellers. UK king-size beds are 5'. All of our beds are a minimum of this size

Things we cannot address

1. We are not in charge of the national mobile/cell coverage

2. We did not crash your car when you left it unattended in gear on your way to the hotel

3. Small roads are fact of life in England and here in Lynton you are in the middle of a national park

3. We are not responsible for your credit card being declined

In conclusion

I suspect that your trip here was tainted by factors outside of our control. People that come to Lynton are not looking for a national hilton style hotel and are looking for something a bit more quirky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great hotel and would certainly go back. The owners, Russ and Kerinda were excellent hosts and i think you would have to go a long way to beat the cooking, both at dinner and breakfast. The room was clean, big and to a very good standard. One of the most comfortable mattresses i have slept on. The view was amazing! Ideal spot for walks along the Valley of the Rocks and also into Lynton. The cable car to Lynmouth is close by. If you are looking for something special then you won't do much better than this. Looks like most visitors feel the same!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a wonderful three days at Seawood. Russ and Kerinda were kind and attentive hosts.
Our room was lovely, high-end and the view was spectacular. The atmosphere through the hotel is comfortable and relaxed with a pleasant sitting area and a cosy bar.

The breakfast menu was extensive and the food was wonderful. We only had dinner at the Seawood one evening as we also wanted to sample some spots in Lynton which were fine but the choice is limited. Our one dinner at the Seawood was excellent - should have had more there!

Thanks Russ and Kerinda, it was a delightful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Seawood Hotel is an excellent choice.
Very comfortable rooms. This time we stayed in the Countisbury suite. Previously we have stayed in Ragged Jack. Well decorated, very bright and clean. Lovely bathrooms.
Russ and Karinda are very freindly and always want to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Beautiful views out to sea from most if not all windows.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel. A very good choice and all very tasty and well presented.

Room Tip: Any room is a fabulous room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. The hotel is in a beautiful location in the cliffs at Lynton with wonderful views over Lynmouth and beyond. The welcome from Russ and Kerinda was very encouraging and nothing disappointed - the room, the decor, the food (breakfast and dinner), ambience were all excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have to stay in a lot of hotels for my work, but this was unlike any I've ever stayed in. It was a perfect choice for a wedding anniversary and well deserving of the ratings it's achieved. Russ and Kerinda couldn't do more to make us feel welcome and comfortable. It's a delight to find hotel managers who clearly care about their 'product'. Comfortable rooms and soooo quiet! Exmoor is stunning, too, and you are a short walk from some of its most stunning sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing