We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Elloughton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thank you very much to the owner and his son for a lovely experience visiting your hotel for afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was the best one of our holiday. We sat outside on the terrace overlooking the bay, a lovely spot to sit and relax. Nothing was too much trouble. Your hospitality was superb, would love to think we could come and stay in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    31
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
250
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great Place, however, when it comes to hosts, one has to consider personality clashes! For us, we felt uncomfortable by the hosts over confident lecture on where to go, what to do, rules of the house, etc, that each guest received before being even shown to one's room. Dealing with the general public is never easy, and one has to be all things to all people I am sure. To be humble although successful is admirable, to be arrogant and over confident is another.
The house is lovely, with its creaky floorboards and original features, yet has a sympathetic modern décor, it was only for us, and I stress, this is only down to how "we" expect a host to behave; we feel that the hospitality trade is not for them! Others, as you can see from this site, find the hosts a treat.

Room Tip: Sea Views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HetjeCrocketje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

wish we could have stayed longer. very welcoming guesthouse. thanks to andy for info and lovely breakfasts. the whole place is quiet, peaceful and just a nice place to be in.....its got to be the best in area
sue and john

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallysally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Russ and Karinda are wonderful hosts. We stayed in room 10 - (Lynmouth Bay) could not fault any aspect of the room or the bathroom and the views are beautiful. Ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel both were fantastic. We will be recommending this beautiful gem to all our family and friends. Can't wait to go back

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallahkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

'If only'.......all small sub-10 bedroomed privately owned hotels in this country were as delightful, so......... 'thank goodness' for The Seawood Hotel. All the positive observations to date precisely reflect our experience. This hotel represents a benchmark and a lesson in how to run a hotel efficiently and well given the increasing & ludicrous impositions imposed by endless new government regulations. How sad then that The Seaward and others also have to tolerate mean spirited inaccurate reviews from those with absolutely no business acumen or knowledge of the hospitality industry. I support Russ in challenging tripadvisor to investigate untruthful reviews written with the sole intention to damage a businesses reputation.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view will be a joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunbeamSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently spent one week at Seawood.
From the moment I arrived I received such a warm welcome and that warm and friendly treatment continued the whole week.
The food was superb and the evening meals provided a great choice and were as good as or better than many I have had in more expensive restaurants throughout the the country.
My room was clean, tidy, comfortable and was always made up and replenished with light refreshments by the time I returned in the evenings.
I am already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnr186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Seawood, sadly for just one night. We were made very welcome, it is a beautiful house in a fantastic location. Breakfast was great, we also had our supper at the Exmoor pizza and pasta restaurant run by Russ. Very good pizza! We will be back for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing