We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a lovely, relaxing weekend!”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thank you for a lovely, relaxing weekend!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel, perched high atop Lynton in the Exmoor Natioanl park, looking over the harbour town of Lynmouth. After a slightly nerve-shredding journey up very steep hills we arrived and got a wonderful welome from Russ, the owner. I've read some people have had a problem with his in-depth welcome taking us through the hotel's facilities, local amenitites and nearby attractions and how to get there. I was very happy not to just be given the keys and left to get on with it, but I suppose it comes down to taste.

Our room was lovely, with a double aspect and a proper sea view. Clean, well appointed the only issue was the window frame rattlig madly when someone walked around in the room upstairs but it's an old building, it isn't going to totally silent. This really wasn't a major issue and I loved the character of the place.

Lynton itself is a very short walk away where you can ride the funicular train down to Lynmouth (get ti back up too, it's a long steep walk) or wander around the pretty shops, tea shops and restauarants. We ate the first night at the Exmoor Pizza and Pasta which is also owned by the hotel owners. it was lovely - check it out!

Breakfast at the hotel is very good - a small selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt and a homecooked hot breakfast of of your choice. Karinder was a lovely host and always cheery and interested in what you'd been up to and seen the day before. it was nice to eat boled eggs with a sea view! :-)

Overall my partner David and i loved our stay there, we were very sad to leave and i can't imagine we'd not be back again. Thanks to Karinder and Russ for the welcome and hospitality and to Russ's son Sam for his brilliant hosting at the Pizza restauarnt! Ignore the mealy mouthed moaning reviews here, this is a wonderful little hotel run by very nice people who clearly care about their guests. if you want an impersonal experience where you can simply sit on Facebook all your holiday and don't want to interact with the people and places around you, book elsewhere.

Room Tip: I don't know if all the rooms have a sea view but just ask when you book. I'm sure they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonWeir76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
253
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

On arrival Russ the proprietor was waiting to greet us in person (no impersonal foreign staff here) He made us feel very welcome and was very helpful and informative. Unlike some hotels he showed us to our room, unlike the usual "here's you key now sort yourselves out" He seemed very keen to know we were happy with everything, which we were. The room was really lovely and absolutely immaculate, nice and large with a lovely view over the channel. Everything was in good order and not a speck of dust anywhere. The bed was really comfy with top quality bedding.Television had full sky plus movies. Good quality cooked breakfast which we were able to enjoy on the balcony overlooking the bristol channel.. It would be very difficult not to have a good stay at this hotel, bliss, really loved it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just spent a most enjoyable week at the Seawood hotel.
If your looking for a quite relaxing hotel this is the place.
The bedrooms are large, light and airy,very clean, well appointed, and extremely quite,with superb views of the Devon coastline and beyond.
The owners Russ and Karen were helpful,friendly and put 100% into making our stay enjoyable.
We have stayed in many similar hotels throughout the UK,the Seawood is one of the best we've stayed in..a real breath of fresh air.
Would thoroughly recommend it.
Paul&Andrea..Lancs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broganManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and we had an amazing stay - just wish we could have stayed longer. The owners are always on hand to make your stay a special one. Location is great, especially if you like walking. Views from the bedrooms lovely and the hotel atmosphere is so peaceful - can't wait to have time to return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Seawood and again it was a comfortable stay with welcoming hosts. Whilst we have stayed in the recent past don't think we have taken advantage of the hotels superb location for walking as we have done this time. The walk from the hotel to the Hunters Inn and back via an inland route was testing, but very beautiful. I suppose that's why I like the hotel, I can dump my car and not use it until its time to go home - which usually comes far too quickly! So if you fancy a break in a comfortable hotel, with great hosts, in a spectacular location and surrounded by good places to eat and drink the Seawood fits the bill. The only disapointment was the lack of a dinner option at this time of year - however I am assured that it will be back in the autumn.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the spacious, lovely Countisbury Suite. It has a small kitchenette and a small room, ideal for suitcases. Superb views across the Bristol Channel to Wales. Wonderful breakfasts supplied by the very welcoming hosts, Kerinda and Russ. Lots of things to do directly from the hotel, the spectacular coastal path to the Valley of the Rocks and beyond, Cliff railway down to Lymouth, the walk to Watersmeet in the lovely Lyn valley and boat trips from the harbour.A fantastic holiday we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: countisbury suite very spacious ideal for a longer break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very friendly and welcoming owners. Beautiful room on the top floor with incredible views from here and the breakfast room. Great tips/info from the owners on Valley of Rocks /White Lady etc. Recommended it to my parents who stayed there a couple of weeks later and loved it. Need to go back as we didn't get time to use the sauna!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing