We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Right from the moment of arrival this hotel gave us a good feeling. The welcome from Russ and Kerinda (they took over the hotel in 2009) was warm, we were given help with luggage and complimentary refreshments. The 4-poster bed was comfortable, and the views from the room superb (all rooms have a sea view). The breakfast was excellent with a choice of items, cooked by Russ. We chose to eat in on one evening, the food was absolutely first-class even if a little pricey at £28.50 per head. However, this included post-prandial coffee/tea which was taken in the lounge amidst very convivial conversation with fellow-guests.
The hotel is very convenient for the Lynton-Lynmouth cliff railway, and has its own entrance gate right by the Lynton station
We definitely plan to return here for a longer break when time permits.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

It is diificult to find the right balance between Dog Friendly and Luxury accommodation. For us the Seawood Hotel addressed our requirements perfectly. Lovely clean room with four poster bed and sea views. Excellent Breakfast which sets you up for walks in the area. Fantastic Five course meal in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The hotel is in a great location and has stunning views from our room which was clean and comfortable.
We stayed for three nights on db&b and felt the dinner did not reflect the price charged. Although five course with some good starters and great puddings not all was home made, the main course showed little imagination and was served with the same very ordinary vegtables each evening.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ken024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Last minute booking for a "get away from it all" break for myself and my husband which didn't fail to deliver on all apsects. Russ and Kerinda are fantastic hosts (and thanks to Sam also). The hotel is really lovely and spotlessly clean; food is superb. We had a 4 poster bed with fabulous views of the devon coast. Step out of the hotel and straight onto the coastal path for great walks with superb views. On the other side, walk through the garden and straight onto the clifftop railway which will take you down to lovely Lynmouth. Will definitely be returning to the Seawood and cannot recommend highly enough. I guarantee you will love both the hotel,staff and the location. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmershamSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed at the Seawood Hotel after seeing the good ratings on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed.

We took our dog and she got the warmest welcome from Russ and Kerinda- they even spared her a sausage each day. She can't wait to go back! This is not a hotel which just tolerates dogs, they are postively welcomed.

Our room was pleasant and had a decent sea view and a very nice, recently refurbished bathroom. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean.

The breakfast was excellent- fresh fruit salad every day, yoghurts, cereals, fruit juices.. and then the full english, beautifully cooked.

One evening we had the 5 course meal which again was excellent, well worth a try. The food was delicious and served piping hot. We had drinks in the bar before dinner, and when we got the bill we were pleasantly surprised that the drink prices were very reasonable for a hotel.

The location is ideal, 2 or 3 mins walk to the centre of Lynton, yet tucked away in a quiet location down a leafy road. You can walk right from the door, perfect for walkers and dog owners.

We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it for a relaxed stay with friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Lovely hotel in an amazing location in Lynton, just at the top of the railway and with wonderful views. The hotel nestles on the edge of the cliff in a wonderfully lush and quiet setting, although it was easy to find and access is good. We didn't have forward facing rooms and still got to see the sea from our windows. Rooms were very clean, with stylish furnishings for the price. Breakfast was fab and the staff were super friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend Seawood to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Just spent 3 brilliant days in Lynton at the Seawood Hotel. Do not be put off by the 2 stars or Tripadvisor calling it a B&B, it isn't. What it is, is a really comfortable small hotel.
Weather was perfect for walking and the scenery in and around Lynton and Lynmouth was amazing. We stayed in one of the rooms that has had a new bathroom and it was really well done and really clean too. The hosts Russ and Kerinda are likeable and friendly. The food was amazing, we only ate in on the last night having wanted to try other restaurants in the area, we had been a little disappointed until then. We both had the fresh fish, Sea bass and it was really delicious, desserts were a real treat and the wine list was small but good. Well done Seawood. We have booked again for September.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olisambenjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
484 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £103 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing