We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

It was such a surprise as a solo traveller to get a double bed in a lovelly new room and bathroom, without financial penalty. Most single rooms are around the back near the boiler, but not here. Kerinda and Russ are brilliant hosts and knew exactly how to make me feel at home, no request was too difficult and all the services came with a smile. The food was really good and always hot.

The hotel is on the quiet Northwalk but just a short walk from town, bus stops or breath taking walks.

Kerinda and Russ thank you for one of my best ever holidays...well done!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freethesalford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
245
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Decided to book this hotel on the basis of reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We had a lovely spacious newly reburbished room and ensuite. The food was excellent and the hotel superbly situated at the top of the unique water powered Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway. Hosts Russell and Kerinda were very friendly and helpful. The terrace was a great place to relax before dinner after a long days walking on the coastal path.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I have stayed at the Seawood many times over the past 25 years and must say that my latest recent stay was the best. Kerinda and Russ could not do enough to make my stay happier and make me feel 'at home'.My room was clean ,comfortable and the facilities excellent and as for the food I must say that the quality surpassed most of what I have had at many well known restaurants in London.
I'm looking forward to my next stay next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnr186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwaterr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

this hotel owned and run by russel & kerinda is the perfect place to relax and be looked after the rooms food and service were first rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryhamblin410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We chose to go on a last minute break and checked out TA for hotels in the Lynton/Lynmouth area. We managed to get a standard room at the Seawood Hotel and we were not dissapointed. The room is a little on the small side but had a new bathroom and was freshly decorated. The views although on the side of the hotel were fine and we could see the Welsh coast in the distance. We did not have dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was of a very high standard and listening to others who did dine in they all seemed very happy. The hosts were really keen to please, they have an easy going light hearted almost cheeky style which gives a holiday feel to the whole experience. It is difficult to add to the other good reviews other than saying I can recommend this hotel really highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteshoegodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Where to start? To get to the hotel you drive down a little lane from the high street and suddenly you are on a breathtaking cliff top road with great views over the Bristol channel and Lynmouth Bay. The Seawood Hotel is a pretty Pink House with lovely gardens. Stepping through the door we got a cheery welcome, a quick tour and then was taken to our room (we got the blue one in the photos). The owners have recently refurbished the hotel and the room we had was totally new and has a bathroom with a loo with the best view in the country...probably!

We were invited down for a coffee on the house where Russ helped us plan our 2 days in the area. Great advice...thank you we had a great time.

We ate in the restaurant on our final night the food and ambiance were excellent.

I have travelled a great deal with work and for leisure and I can honestly say I have never had a more satisfying hotel experience it was bloomin marvellous.

Thank you Kerinda and Russ we have already booked to come back in September.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clashfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Where to start?!?! Well I guess firstly, the location is excellent - located on the hillside of Lynton, down a quiet lane which you can just follow down to the valley of rocks (a short 20 minute walk away which you can make into as long or as short a walk as you like). Also from the back garden of the hotel you have access to the water-powered cliff railway - but if you want to stay fit then take the steep walk to and from Lynmouth!!!
As for the hotel itself; It retains a traditional feel when you arrive but it's once you arrive in your room that you really feel like you are in a nice boutique hotel. Our room was amazing - with views to die for - classy yet modern, with a lovely, large bathroom.
The owners could not be more helpfull. Their advice on walks and the area were very good and ensured we made the most of our few days there. We were welcomed with a free tea or coffee when we arrived and all in all their hospitality was second to none. We had breakfast here both mornings (included in the rate) which was lovely and freshly cooked. We also dined here one evening and enjoyed some of the locally supplied food which had been made into some wonderfull dishes - it's certainly worth dining here.
All in all it was a wonderfull experience with the relaxation we had craved. A lovely experience that we could both imagine enjoying each and every year - and there are not many places we could say that about.
Many thanks to the owners for making our stay so enjoyable - we hope to see you again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkycurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing