We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i personally would say it was the best hotel i have been to in a long time!”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“i personally would say it was the best hotel i have been to in a long time!”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

the seawood hotel is a beautiful hotel over-looking some amazing scenary. the staff including alberto were all very nice and helped me whenever i needed a problem. the bedroom i stayed in was perfect for a single traveller. i had internet access aswell which was a big help! the food i had there was just as brilliant. my thanks goes to russel and kerinda for there brilliant hospitality and i would advise anyone to go there. Even teenagers and kids would love to stay here, lynton and lynmouth has got things that the whole family can enjoy, for any other walkers this is the ideal place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benpearce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
243
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We are two seasoned Manhattanites who have had some great experiences this trip with wonderful B&B/Inn/hotel owners. But no one is as kind and genuine as the owners of Seawood. They went out of their way to make our stay special. The hotel is in the middle of a transformation -- from traditional and a bit stodgy to updated and stylish (n.b. they only do work in the off season so you won't be bothered). The hotel itself still has a lot of old world character, but most of the rooms have been updated to Elle Decor Magazine standards. We were first in room 11, which is very "bijoux" but well appointed. We were then moved to room 3 which is much bigger, has a killer bathroom with a wonderful view of the ocean and is very large. Try and book this one if you can. The breakfasts were great, and although we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, it smelled outstanding. It's location is second to none - beside the Lynton/Lynmouth cliff train and 20 minutes walk to Valley of the Rocks. With a location like this and such wonderful owners, you can't help but have a great stay at Seawood. I just hope we can return to see the fully transformed result in a few years.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IveBeenAroundNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staines
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed at the Seawood Hotel for 3 nights. We were really surprised at how modern the hotel was inside. Great room, fantastic deep bath in room 3. Free internet, could play my IPOD...all we wanted. A great mix of old and new. Fun service from the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middlesex-walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Three night stay August 2010, Warm friendly clean hotel, Exceptional Views of Lynton and Lynmouth. Proprietors work really hard to ensure that your stay is a pleasurable experience. Food was excellent served by polite friendly staff. The rooms were tastefully decorated with modern faciities.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I stumbled on the Seawood by accident. How fortunate........super owners and team, stunning views, a lovely room.............the staff could not have been more helpful. I will return !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenosborn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook Norton
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We have stayed at the Seawood Hotel for up to half a dozen times over the past few years which, in itself, must amount to a recommendation. Our liking for the hotel and our return to it repeatedly have been based upon a number of favourable factors: its location, its furnishings and cleanliness, excellent food and, above all else, the warm welcome and first class service from Kerinder and Russell and their staff. Now that the proprietors have updated the bathroom and shower facilities in all the bedrooms, they have surely created a holiday stopping place that is second to none. Without doubt, it has our highest recommendation for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseHookNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at the Seawood for a week on Half Board. Room 11 although a little small had double aspect sea views, a very comfortable bed and a newly refurbished luxury shower room. The food was excellent with wide choices at each meal, complimented by always being cooked to order and made from quality fresh local ingredients. The hotel has easy walking access to Lynton and the cable car to Lynmouth. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplinair747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing