We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, food and accommodation”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, food and accommodation”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, the hotel is extremely friendly and clean. Our room had wonderful views and had been refurbished to a very high standard. The food (breakfast and evening meals) was fabulous.
This was a real treat for us - we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
253
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We picked this hotel from the reviews on tripadvisor & were not disappointed. It ticked all the boxes..friendly atmosphere, beautifully refurbished room and en-suite, wonderful view, an owner who works endlessly to provide the best service & cooks a breakfast from locally sourced produce. The hotel also offers an excellent evening meal at a set price, and though we tried other local restaurants, we didn't find anything better.

It is situated at the top of the rail link between Lynton & Lynmouth and the fact that so many guests return to the hotel speaks for itself.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank techie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Excellent standard of cleanliness.
Excellent breakfast, good value for money.
Evening meal food was excellent, but if on a budget could become a bit pricy.
We would go back, especially knowing they have the facility to take my dog.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindafloyd5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here as part my 30th birthday celebrations. Everything exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 2 nights but wish it was for longer. We were made to feel very welcome, the room was beautiful, clean with fantastic views. The food was excellent especially the desserts. The chocolate fondant was to die for. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munch001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

A really nice hote
We found it to be very relaxing,scrupulosly clean and the owners,Russ and Kerinda
exeedingly courteous and extremely helpful.
A PERFECT STAY

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed at the Seawood over the August bank holiday. We normally opt for the modern, glass & chrome type hotel, and tend to feel a bit awkward in B&Bs when you feel as though you're in someone's home. The Seawood bridged the gap for us very nicely.

From the moment you arrive, you can tell this hotel is owned by people who put in a lot of effort and hard work to meet (even exceed) the expectations of their guests. When I mentioned that the bathroom (beautifully refurbished) could do with a small shelf to put your bits and pieces on, they said they would go out and get one that same day. The location is second to none. We had a dual aspect room, with seaviews out of both windows - we left the curtains open at night so that we would wake to the view. Breakfast was excellent, with pleasant and efficient service and, I have to admit, better than the modern hotels we normally pick.

It does feel as though the hotel has a bit of split personality at the moment. The bedrooms have been refurbished to a high standard and have got the balance right between matching the style of the building and providing all the mod cons. The public rooms downstairs are rather dated, presumably awaiting refurb. Having said that, they are still comfortable, and have wonderful seaviews. There's a lovely decking out front where you can take breakfast if the weather is good.

Parking is tight, and you just need someone to a park a bit carelessly to create the need to double-park. However, the owner is more than happy to do the necessary car manoeuvering to let you out if the car keys are left with him.

All in all, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

the seawood hotel is a beautiful hotel over-looking some amazing scenary. the staff including alberto were all very nice and helped me whenever i needed a problem. the bedroom i stayed in was perfect for a single traveller. i had internet access aswell which was a big help! the food i had there was just as brilliant. my thanks goes to russel and kerinda for there brilliant hospitality and i would advise anyone to go there. Even teenagers and kids would love to stay here, lynton and lynmouth has got things that the whole family can enjoy, for any other walkers this is the ideal place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benpearce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing