We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked at short notice to stay for one night. I thought the B & B charge of £88 was reasonable for the area but when I arrived I realised it was excellent value. The location is excellent. The garden leads to the Cliff Railway and the main street in Lynton so not far to walk to anything. The railway actually goes past the hotel. The views of Lynmouth bay are outstanding. The hotel is excellent for a 2 star. I was worried when I read it was dog friendly but no dog smell at all. Very clean and tidy. Good facilities in the room. Nice lounge and fabulous views from the breakfast room. Owner very friendly and service was great. Breakfast was lovely with great choice. The hotel has many original features which are very pretty and add character. Unfortunately the wind was really strong and rattled the original windows all night, but that cant be helped. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybishop542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    43
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I stayed at the hotel on Friday night with my partner and our dog. We arrived at 11pm, and received a warm welcome, being given our keys straight away. Our room was room 17, right on the top floor, up three flights of stairs. The room was great, with sea views over the harbour and bay. It was clean, and well presented, with fresh towels and soap laid out on the bed. I was half expecting to be given a lower end room, due to us having a dog - that was not the case at all, and I made a mental note to wipe the dogs paws before I let him onto the clean, cream carpet! The bathroom was excellent, with laminated floor, and also a sea view.
We slept soundly, as did the dog! Breakfast was very good indeed, I had the Full English with scrambled egg. It wasn't a greasy spoon affair at all, but very nice, and healthy too.
Our only "gripe" (if it can be called that) was the fact that the shower didn't seem to work - it was an overhead mixer, and I couldn't seem to get it working at all. This could well have been operator error, and we certainly didn't complain - as there was nothing wrong with having a quick bath! Had we been staying longer than one night, I would probably have mentioned it to the very friendly, and helpful lady on the desk (I assume she was the owner).
We were allowed to leave the car on the hotel car park whilst we walked through the Valley of the Rocks (the car park is very small with space for perhaps 8 cars). The Lynton Cliff Railway is literally at the end of the hotel garden - you HAVE to travel on this - it's amazing (water powered!) and has been in use since 1888! We paid £3 each return, and £1.50 return for the dog, which we thought reasonable enough. I wouldn't recommend the walk down to the beach!
We paid £92 for B & B for 2 adults and the dog, which seems to be the going rate. The location is perfect, and for those wanting a night time tipple, the hotel does have a bar.
The only reason I haven't given it full marks is the fact that it is not 5 star by any stretch of the imagination, and some people are fussy to the point of being ridiculous. It suited us fine - clean, comfortable, friendly, welcoming, perfect location, reasonable rates - what else can the weary traveller ask for?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have stayed in this lovely hotel for the past three years. The location is fabulous, the staff and owner could not be better. Spotlessly clean and a delight to visit. We have already booked for August and again in September.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Lots of reasons to keep returning to this hotel, including the wonderful location, the views are fantastic, the friendly staff, the clean rooms, the hotel always smells lovely! our dog always settles well, the breakfasts are excellent and keep you going all day!
Perfect base for exploring Exmoor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelllingtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Comfortable older hotel that is situated on the cliffs in superb location. Friendly service and very good standards of cleanliness. Single room small but a good sized en suite with a window. The view from my room was looking down on Lynmouth and towards the cliffs of Countisbury, great !. Excellent and well cooked breakfast, I had the veggie breakfast and a great fresh fruit salad. Ideal place for a nice relaxing break. The place seemed a hit with its doggie visitors and I spoke to repeat guests who keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmoorplodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Stayed here for a weekend and found it to be very good. We were actually in a family room which consisted of 2 adjoining rooms, the layout was a little odd but the accommodation cant be faulted. The room was comfortable and was right by the cliff railway with great views over the bay. Breakfast was ample and the service from the waitress was friendly and efficient. We didnt eat in at night, preferring to try local places and can thoroughly recommend the Indian restaurant in town! A steep walk into town and the parking could be tight but apart from that this hotel offers good value accommodation and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our room was lovely and clean, spacious and comfortable with a stunning view of Lynmouth. The staff were friendly (especially the co-owner). The breakfast was scrummy! don't be put off by the outside - the inside is excellent and we'd be happy to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 11 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing