We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, a bit dated, very friendly”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

You are greeted by a friendly and helpful hostess who also does the cooking, including hearty breakfast, herself with help from equally nice staff. The views from front rooms (worth splurging on a larger suite even) are incredible and the hotel is pretty but a bit dated with a typical B&B front lounge with fireplace, comfy furniture and games - almost has a "Fawlty Towers" feel to it but in an ingratiating way! Location is ideal for the Cliff Railway and dinners in Lynton but beware of the steep walk if you go to Lynmouth after 6pm!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view!
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank bwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for North Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

This Cliff top hotel is modest establishment, however a family friendly welcome awaits and there is everything you need. We arrived with dogs and children and the hotel could cope.. The hotel is not full of egyption cotton and but is functional clean and has a venicular railway running right next door, young boys dream. Our son was five when we stayed and we could easily put him to bed and spend our evenings in the lounge with a gin and tonic....
We travel with a dog cage and rather spend a night with our dogs in our room we were able to put them in a downstair cloakroom area a blessing in disguise.
The hotel is situated directly on the coastal path and the views are amazing.
Keeping our youngster was easy -just visit the gorge, with is water sprays and mechanical contraptions.. young boy heaven.

Dining out, then a short drive to the Blue Bull is a must, dog and child friendly our meal was of extremely high quality although portions were rather generous, so be warned.

Our son keeps asking to go back, definitely one of our better stays in 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewthefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Have stayed at the North Cliff Hotel several times and always feel so welcome. It's at a lovely location with amazing views and Lynton town and the cliff railway to the beach just outside the door.
The food is generous and of a very good quality and the owner Kate and her staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

In August, we had a long weekend at the Northcliff Hotel. When we originally booked the hotel, the pictures shown rooms with a sea view. Which really encouraged us to book the hotel, and gave us something to look forward to.

When we got to the hotel, the staff were polite and the hotel was in the perfect location.

Entering the room, the room was cosy to say the least. The view was great just has long you stuck your head out the window or while you stood by the bathroom window. We were given a room for a family, and if we had children the room the room they would of stayed in would of been perfect. Although at night a totally difference story, it was pitch black and would of scared them to death. Our room was near the railway, and sounded like the kettle was boiling every 10 minutes with a bell to say it finished. This i got used to.

The breakfast was delicious and the perfect size and set us up for the day.

I was just coming round to the cosy room with a postal stamp of a window, and a bathroom with a better view then the bedroom and I was beginning to enjoy the stay.

I had noticed that the towelling were damp on the first full day, and I thought nothing off it. It was not until our final day, that the towels had been wet everyday and they HAD not been changed at all. We had shower every morning and every afternoon, and not changed at all. Which I find disguising, and very unhygienic. The room was tidied up and the bed made every day, why could the towels not be changed.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesschloe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for just the one night the day after our wedding and had a brilliant time. Having had a busy day the day before it was the perfect retreat to relax and spend time together and Kate and her staff enabled us to do this.

The location of this hotel is brilliant and the views are fantastic. We had room 2 and to be able to open the curtains in the morning to that view was brilliant. The room was very spacious, bed was amazingly comfy and the bathroom very clean. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and looks well looked after.

Nothing was too much trouble for Kate and the staff - we forgot to pack food for our dog and we were provided with a bag of dog food and a dog treat which was a lovely touch. As we were the only guests in the hotel we were able to relax in the lounge and even let the dog off the lead which was nice.

Breakfast in the morning was superb - we didn't fancy a fry-up so asked if we could have scrambled eggs instead and again this was no trouble for them.

During the day we walked down onto the beach to walk the dog and then had lunch in The Rising Sun on the sea front which we highly recommend!! Afterwards we went back to the hotel and had a few drinks and played Scrabble in front of the fire!

All in all this was a fantastic overnight stay made good by friendly, helpful staff at the hotel and a beautiful relaxed setting and to have all this and it be dog friendly as well is perfect. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We had room 2 which had amazing views
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We recently had two nights here and had a great time. It's nothing fancy but it's comfortable, inexpensive, and very very friendly. Kate was brilliant, lending us maps and even offering to give us a lift somewhere when we didn't want to drive. The breakfast was filling, the view from our room was amazing, and it's a great location - quiet, a few minutes' walk into Lynton, right on the South West Coastal Path, near the footpath down into Lynmouth. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just returned from a magical weekend in Somerset/North Devon - what an awesome area and what a lovely comfortable hotel. Thank you Kate and your staff we had a fab time. Spectacular views, warm welcome and a cracking breakfast. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £77 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 11 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing