We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent rooms, great location. Old fashioned holiday hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent rooms, great location. Old fashioned holiday hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Spent 4 days here during very mixed weather. Very nice place, decor quite dated and furniture not the best, but everything spotless. Good full English breakfast each morning, plus veggie option.

Fantastic location, right at the top of the cliff and near the cliff railway station. Great views but windows in the room quite small. Purportedly a restaurant there but never saw any diners.

Lynton and Lynmouth are really nice but very small and isolated. Walk up to Watetsmeet is gorgeous, with lots of white water and paddling spots for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    41
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Would thoroughly recommend. Stayed on the first Bank Holiday and it was full (which in many smaller hotels can bode a problem) but the service was excellent. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great too, abd an excellent choice. Room was good, clean and the TV even had an iPod dock. Bathroom was a little small, but not really a problem.
Brilliant views and well located. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is an old quaint Hotel half way up the cliff, right on the track side of the Cliff Railway. The view from our room which was number 4 was beautiful and the old style window was a perfect frame. The Bed was very comfortable and the shower was a good size too. The dining room became very hot when the sun shone.. ( we were lucky that it did!) and the breakfast was substantial with a style choice of eggs and vegetarian option. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a double with a nice view and bigger shower room recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

You are greeted by a friendly and helpful hostess who also does the cooking, including hearty breakfast, herself with help from equally nice staff. The views from front rooms (worth splurging on a larger suite even) are incredible and the hotel is pretty but a bit dated with a typical B&B front lounge with fireplace, comfy furniture and games - almost has a "Fawlty Towers" feel to it but in an ingratiating way! Location is ideal for the Cliff Railway and dinners in Lynton but beware of the steep walk if you go to Lynmouth after 6pm!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillingham dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This Cliff top hotel is modest establishment, however a family friendly welcome awaits and there is everything you need. We arrived with dogs and children and the hotel could cope.. The hotel is not full of egyption cotton and but is functional clean and has a venicular railway running right next door, young boys dream. Our son was five when we stayed and we could easily put him to bed and spend our evenings in the lounge with a gin and tonic....
We travel with a dog cage and rather spend a night with our dogs in our room we were able to put them in a downstair cloakroom area a blessing in disguise.
The hotel is situated directly on the coastal path and the views are amazing.
Keeping our youngster was easy -just visit the gorge, with is water sprays and mechanical contraptions.. young boy heaven.

Dining out, then a short drive to the Blue Bull is a must, dog and child friendly our meal was of extremely high quality although portions were rather generous, so be warned.

Our son keeps asking to go back, definitely one of our better stays in 2011

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewthefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Have stayed at the North Cliff Hotel several times and always feel so welcome. It's at a lovely location with amazing views and Lynton town and the cliff railway to the beach just outside the door.
The food is generous and of a very good quality and the owner Kate and her staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

In August, we had a long weekend at the Northcliff Hotel. When we originally booked the hotel, the pictures shown rooms with a sea view. Which really encouraged us to book the hotel, and gave us something to look forward to.

When we got to the hotel, the staff were polite and the hotel was in the perfect location.

Entering the room, the room was cosy to say the least. The view was great just has long you stuck your head out the window or while you stood by the bathroom window. We were given a room for a family, and if we had children the room the room they would of stayed in would of been perfect. Although at night a totally difference story, it was pitch black and would of scared them to death. Our room was near the railway, and sounded like the kettle was boiling every 10 minutes with a bell to say it finished. This i got used to.

The breakfast was delicious and the perfect size and set us up for the day.

I was just coming round to the cosy room with a postal stamp of a window, and a bathroom with a better view then the bedroom and I was beginning to enjoy the stay.

I had noticed that the towelling were damp on the first full day, and I thought nothing off it. It was not until our final day, that the towels had been wet everyday and they HAD not been changed at all. We had shower every morning and every afternoon, and not changed at all. Which I find disguising, and very unhygienic. The room was tidied up and the bed made every day, why could the towels not be changed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesschloe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 11 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing