We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian charm and amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Dereham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Victorian charm and amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returned from a week at the North Cliff Hotel in its amazing position.
This hotel has many positives that are so different from the standard modern box hotel - we found the room and bed comfortable with many advantages like the individually controlled heating, the hangers in the wardrobe, the mugs for tea/coffee/biscuits, the window in the bathroom [no noisy fan], the cleanliness, the quality of the food [especially the fresh fruit salad at breakfast], the friendly helpful welcoming staff and the homely feel.
Good value for money and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy_malyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunny cornwall
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner enjoyed a relaxing, peaceful one night stay in a lovely airy room with an amazing view over Lynmouth.
Slightly dated but nevertheless the hotel was clean, the staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
The cliff railway is a must!
Would definitely recommend to friends and family if visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banana-girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

In summary the hotel is in a good location with nice views and has friendly staff. However we noted the following:

1) Towels were washed but did not smell clean
2) We left a towel on the floor and it was put back on the towel rack (yuck!!)
3) The shower head was two modes, splatter or weak drizzle (it needs replacing)
4) The hotel uses a saniflow system so we got woken up at 4am with upstairs or next door flushing the toilet and the saniflow kicking in making an absolute racket!
5) The bed was not straightend out after the first night

On the plus side the breakfast was good but won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Multiplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 591 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a very spacious room on the second floor with two large beds, and with a splendid Victorian bay-window looking directly down on Lynmouth Bay and cliffs. The room was neatly furnished and spotlessly clean; lovely armchairs and a flat-screen tv. The bathroom, though small, served its purpose well. Free toiletries and tea/coffee-making facilties were provided.The breakfast was very satisfying, especially the fresh fruit salad and the full English.

Kate, the owner, runs the hotel with a careful eye to detail and she does a very good job indeed! She is very friendly and considerate, as are all her staff.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The views and service are second to none! And you sleep well!

Room Tip: Room 2: quiet, neat and spacious and with an incredible view of the coastline below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013



Well, what a fantastic holiday. Just got back and had to come and share this gem!

Me, my husband and daughter stayed here for an Easter break. We were made to feel very welcome by Kate and her staff!

The hotel is very comforable, clean and well kept for such an old, historic building. Our daughter loved the victorian cliff railway (which runs next to the hotel)! And the views were outstanding.
The breakfast was huge, so much to choose from and locally sourced too.
Price was good value and we will definatly go back next year!

We definatly picked the right hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mack864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We chose to stay at the north cliff hotel because of its fantastic location directly on the Southwest coastal path. Not only is this hotel in a great location with stunning view it also offers great value for money and service. During our travels around the southwest we decamped at the north cliff with 2 grumpy children and a dog. There is a boot room available to deposit muddy clothing & doggy towels before relaxing in our lovely family room. The room offered full range of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and enough biscuits on our arrival that we didn't have to fight over them! The family room was perfect for us with young children as they didn't have to have a seperate room. It is also a plus to have individual heaters in the room so that we could determine the temperature we like (we find all to often hotel rooms are too warm with no way of adjusting the temperature ourselves).

All in all a great place to stay and I would highly recommend this place for families with young children and dogs

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which was perfect with one double, one single, a cot bed and a dog with still en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles42186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I went with my partner for a long weekend and loved it. We had a very warm welcome and our room was large with the most amazing view.

The walks are fantastic and start straight outside the hotel. The team there were super helpful, giving us ideas on where to visit and where to eat.

Lovely village with lots to see, great hotel with lovely people, great value for money and the views are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 14 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing