We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Cliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rockvale(Lynton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
61
43
14
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
43
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquaint hotelamazing viewsone night staystaying at this hotela small car parkstunning locationsea viewshort walkfull englishfruit saladbreakfast roomtwo nightslovely breakfastcooked breakfasthome from homekaterailway
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I decided to whisk my other half off to Devon for a night for his 40th Birthday. his Favourite place being Watersmeet I looked up hotel's in the surrounding area and found North Cliff.
Booking was easy and simple. We where arriving late and the staff where fab. It's a very personal hands on hotel and the resident owner was waiting to greet us at the front desk even though our arrival was gone 11p.m! We had a lovely family size room that had fantastic high ceilings and large windows with an amazing view over Lynton and Lymph which was breath taking.
The room was clean and comfortable and had all amenities that you would need, TV, Heaters, Hair dryer, Draws, Shampoo's etc. Your Full English breakfast was lovely and filling and the staff where friendly and helpfull. Will definately be going back, the hotel and trip put a smile on my partners face all day and was worth the drive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We spent three days at the North Cliff this time. This was our third visit to the Hotel and every time we have been more than happy with the room and the service. The full English breakfast has never failed to satisfy and the views from all of the rooms we have had, have never failed to inspire. Even when the weather is inclement the view over the Bristol Channel is fascinating to behold.

If the Hotel restaurant is closed we can recommend eating at 'Le Bistro' in Lynmouth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

ist visit to north cliffe enjoyed every day good food & service would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moapkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

When we checked in the first thing that hit us was the smell of must and damp, but we put this behind us, as this is a dog friendly hotel and maybe that was the problem. The room was clean, but very very old fashioned. Our main problem was the TV (or lack of it). The brochure clearly describes a colour TV in every room, but what they don’t tell you is that they don’t work. There is no reception and when we asked other guests they confirmed the same. When we checked out early due to this matter we were met with a very aggressive response from the owners daughter. Very aggressive. We advise against staying at the North Cliff Hotel. We spent the rest of the holiday in Tors Hotel in Lymouth (down the road) - what a difference, it was clean, satellite TV, pool and fantastic views ( more expensive but well worth the money) and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angryelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

The room was clean, but very old fashioned. Some of the furniture was shabby and the carpets were old and a bit stained. There was no central heating, only an old electric heater that smelled unsafe and the window panes were cracked. The breakfast waitress was very grumpy and everything seemed to be too much trouble. It advertises as dog friendly, but actually, the dogs are only allowed in certain bedrooms and not in the bar or lounge.
The location is perfect and it had a beautiful view, but it is very much over-priced for the standard.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northcliffLynton, owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

I`m sorry you did`nt enjoy your stay at The North Cliff Hotel,as you pointed out we do acccept dogs, however some of our guests may have allergies so we only use certain rooms for guests staying with dogs, for this reason also we don`t allow dogs into the lounge. We do have electric heater in all rooms so guest can chose their own level of heat and they are checked annually. This customer had not pre-booked this room and checked the room and price before occupancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews