We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Booked this from the tourist office when we arrived in Lynton. £80 ish B&B per night. Nothing at all to complain about. The staff and owners were friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent. It is very old school and a bit purple rinse, but overall excellent. Parking for around 6 cars at the front. Steep hill up to town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for North Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

Booked the weekend from Afghanistan which luckily took about 45 seconds due to the very efficient person on the other end of the phone, email confirmation received the next day. I had found the hotel after searching for dog friendly places to stay around the Exmoor area. On arrival I was really taken back by the excellent position the hotel has with absolutely fantastic views over the coast and picturesque Lynton harbour. After being greeted by Kate at reception we deposited our bags in the room which was comfortable, clean and again had great views.
It was then out to sample the delights of this North Devon town, which really is a gem with loads of interesting places to visit all within walking distance (albeit very hilly walking distance!)
The room had all the required comforts, TV with IPOD dock, tea making facilities, more electrical sockets than needed and wireless internet. The bath was massive and the shower powerful enough to reinvigorate after all the walking. Breakfast was a perfect start to the day and also offered a really good vegetarian choice as well as a cracking full English breakfast. It also allowed the guests to swap information on where to go and what to see. The rooms where cleaned daily and staff were very helpful to go out of their way to ensure that we got as much out of our visit as possible.
Ollie the springer gave it 5 out of 5 paws!
This is definitely the first of many visits to the Northcliffe hotel and Lynton. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevowooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I decided to whisk my other half off to Devon for a night for his 40th Birthday. his Favourite place being Watersmeet I looked up hotel's in the surrounding area and found North Cliff.
Booking was easy and simple. We where arriving late and the staff where fab. It's a very personal hands on hotel and the resident owner was waiting to greet us at the front desk even though our arrival was gone 11p.m! We had a lovely family size room that had fantastic high ceilings and large windows with an amazing view over Lynton and Lymph which was breath taking.
The room was clean and comfortable and had all amenities that you would need, TV, Heaters, Hair dryer, Draws, Shampoo's etc. Your Full English breakfast was lovely and filling and the staff where friendly and helpfull. Will definately be going back, the hotel and trip put a smile on my partners face all day and was worth the drive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We spent three days at the North Cliff this time. This was our third visit to the Hotel and every time we have been more than happy with the room and the service. The full English breakfast has never failed to satisfy and the views from all of the rooms we have had, have never failed to inspire. Even when the weather is inclement the view over the Bristol Channel is fascinating to behold.

If the Hotel restaurant is closed we can recommend eating at 'Le Bistro' in Lynmouth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

ist visit to north cliffe enjoyed every day good food & service would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moapkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

When we checked in the first thing that hit us was the smell of must and damp, but we put this behind us, as this is a dog friendly hotel and maybe that was the problem. The room was clean, but very very old fashioned. Our main problem was the TV (or lack of it). The brochure clearly describes a colour TV in every room, but what they don’t tell you is that they don’t work. There is no reception and when we asked other guests they confirmed the same. When we checked out early due to this matter we were met with a very aggressive response from the owners daughter. Very aggressive. We advise against staying at the North Cliff Hotel. We spent the rest of the holiday in Tors Hotel in Lymouth (down the road) - what a difference, it was clean, satellite TV, pool and fantastic views ( more expensive but well worth the money) and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angryelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

The room was clean, but very old fashioned. Some of the furniture was shabby and the carpets were old and a bit stained. There was no central heating, only an old electric heater that smelled unsafe and the window panes were cracked. The breakfast waitress was very grumpy and everything seemed to be too much trouble. It advertises as dog friendly, but actually, the dogs are only allowed in certain bedrooms and not in the bar or lounge.
The location is perfect and it had a beautiful view, but it is very much over-priced for the standard.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northcliffLynton, owner at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

I`m sorry you did`nt enjoy your stay at The North Cliff Hotel,as you pointed out we do acccept dogs, however some of our guests may have allergies so we only use certain rooms for guests staying with dogs, for this reason also we don`t allow dogs into the lounge. We do have electric heater in all rooms so guest can chose their own level of heat and they are checked annually. This customer had not pre-booked this room and checked the room and price before occupancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of The North Cliff Hotel. All our 11 en-suite rooms have some of the finest sea and coastal views in North Devon. Situated on The South West Coastal Path with the famous water powered Cliff Railway linking Lynton and Lynmouth passing within a few feet of the hotel. We welcome children, dogs and groups and have a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Lynton
North Cliff Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing