We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming & comfortable, with delicious evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gable Lodge Guest House
Ranked #15 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Welcoming & comfortable, with delicious evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Gables has everything you might want from a B&B: a genuine welcome from Anne & Dave, comfortable well-equipped (and very clean) rooms plus quality breakfast using local produce and home made preserves.
On our first night, we ventured out on foot to find a local pub for a few drinks and a meal. This was a mistake... The three pubs we came across were all dire. The good news is that Gable Lodge offers an evening meal if you order at breakfast. This is what we did for our second night, and weren't disappointed - delicious roast lamb with fresh veg followed by rhubarb crumble was just what we needed after a wet day. Proper home cooking, with a selection of decently-priced wine too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My partner and myself stayed 2 nights in November and found accomodation very good - nice aspect, clean room, shower/toilet, furnishings, comfortable bed etc. Supplied lovely biscuits and fresh milk with coffee/tea making facilites together with a bottle of water in fridge, which are nice touches. Good choice and quality of breakfast and owners very friendly and helpful. Only reason not put 5 stars is that the shower/toilet is just part of the bedroom, clearly with partitioning, and somewhat cramped.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HampshireUKPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have stayed in many bed and breakfast's in England and this one is the best. My room was spotless, quiet, spacious and even had a balcony, which is very rare. The breakfast and the room are my all time favourites. Lynton makes a wonderful holiday spot, with beautiful walks right from the doorstep as well as bus rides over the moors and along the coast. I would recommend Gable Lodge to anyone and would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathrynY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband, nearly 2 year old and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of June. After a misunderstanding over when we were due to arrive we were welcomed into the B&B and shown our room which I was initially disappointed with as I had been expecting something a little more modern. As the room was in the gables (hence the name) it was a little dark and not much air got in through the window. However, as our stay went on I became accustomed to it and Anne & Dave were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely and we were provided with all the equipment we needed for our daughter (travel cot, highchair etc.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adem_in_Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

This was our 7th or 8th visit to Gable Lodge and as usual it was excellent in every aspect. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated with comfortable beds and furnishings. The food is absolutely beautiful, breakfast is plentiful and the evening meals are excellent and very reasonable. Anne Dave and Rebecca are a lovely welcoming family, nothing is too much trouble for them. Will see you again later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandFplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed for a long weekend with our 10 month old daughter and were very impressed with the hotel. It was clean and tidy, ideal for a young family, within walking distance of all the attractions in and around Lynton/Lynmouth. The owners were very friendly, the food was very nice and it was generally good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was set on wanting to stay in the Lynton/Lynmouth area as it had been recommended to me. I was taking my boyfriend away for a night for his birthday and it wasn't too far for us to travel to so we could make the most of our time there. I trawled through many an internet site to search for places with good reviews and although there were a few in the area - in fact many on the same street - Gable Cottage came out top due to the great reviews, nice pictures of the rooms, good environmental credentials and the fact they served 'happy' meat and locally sourced food. Many guest houses are closed in early February but it was great news to find Gable Cottage was free to book for just one night.
We arrived late afternoon and were met with a cosy cup of tea, shortbread and a lovely chat - very welcoming. The lounge had recently been refurbished and was beautifully finished with a log burner roaring. We relaxed in our cosy room which again seemed recently decorated, watched telly on the comfy bed before going for dinner downstairs. We booked this and chose our food beforehand so that we didn't have to worry about finding somewhere out of season (and didn't have to go outside in the cold). The food was delicious and great value as was the wine - I am certain nowhere else would have been so good. It was great for me to be able to have the option of eating happy chicken out - a rare treat. What made it for us though was the fact that despite there only being us to eat there, in fact we were the only ones booked in, which was great! Nice and quiet, (a gentleman arrived one the off chance there was a room when we were there and was welcomed warmly and stayed for several nights) we still received a very warm welcome and fantastic service. We chilled out in the lounge with some wine and browsed through the array of books from the bookcase. We had a great nights sleep followed by a brilliant breakfast - proper meaty bacon and sausages. We would have happily stayed for longer and hope to return one day. We highly recommend this place to anyone - it is great value for money, relaxing, cosy, warm and welcoming with fantastic service - go see for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checked01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#12 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
South View B&B
South View B&B
#11 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Lodge Guest House

Property: Gable Lodge Guest House
Address: 35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anne, Dave and Rebecca would like to welcome you to Gable Lodge, Lynton, a family run licensed guest house offering family friendly bed and breakfast accommodation with evening meals available on request. We are keen to protect both the local and wider environment and are delighted to have won the  Devon Federation of Small Businesses 2009 Award for Environmental Responsibility. We hold a 5 star hygiene rating from North Devon Council. Gable Lodge Guest House is a grade 2 listed Victorian building close to all the attractions and amenities within the town. Lynton is ideally placed to give you the best of both the North Devon Coast and the Exmoor National Park and is linked to its twin town of Lynmouth by the famous water powered cliff railway. Gable Lodge Guest House is open all year and has 6 en-suite bedrooms, 4 double rooms, 1 twin / family room and 1 large family room. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, mini-fridge with fresh milk, new flat screen tv with inbuilt dvd plaver, radio alarm with ipod docking and hairdryer . All double beds have 100% cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gable Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing