We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Fault It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gable Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gable Lodge Guest House
Ranked #14 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Can't Fault It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

After a disastrous start to our holiday we needed to find accommodation that could house us and our baby twins at short notice. The owners of Gable Lodge couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in a lovely room, they fed us (again, at short notice), they even washed and sterilised baby bottles for us. We can't fault this lovely B&B - brilliant service, quality rooms, well priced and lovely homecooked food. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review. We were only too happy to help out. Hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable and the twins let you have a rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

You get such a nice , genuine welcome here you immediately feel at home .

The bed was amazingly comfy and the breakfast excellent .

Can't speak highly enough of this excellent place . The whole family put themselves out for you with a great attention to detail .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us and hearing all about your walking holidays. We may even have been inspired to do a bit more walking this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this Guest House for two nights over Easter with our children. We had a lovely welcome from Dave which included tea, coffee, fresh juice and biscuits and the boys played with some of the puzzles in the guest lounge. The rooms were fantastic, the mini fridge a real bonus. The beds were super comfy with quality bedding and furniture. Everywhere is immaculate, incredibly clean and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is second to non with a good choice and beautifully cooked. We are already planning our next stay. I can't wait to return for a soak in the bath minus the kids! Thanks very much Anne and Dave :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thanks for this lovely review. We are looking forward to your return in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at this lovely B and B, we cannot say anything negative about it. The hosts were so welcoming, their B and B cosy, warm and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Everything about it positive. There are good places to eat if you look e.g The Crown Hotel and The Green House both serve excellent evening meals.At this time of the year it is a bit quiet in the evenings but theres lots of places you can visit or walk to during the day just ask Anne and Dave. We look forward to going back again next summer..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

our hosts couldlnt do enough for us. The breakfasts were a wide variety and very very good.The room was comfortable although the mattress wasnt hard enough for us< but that is a personal choice.Our room was very clean and quiet. Lynton was too quiet at night and had no decent pubs , but Lilly Mays Restaurant was very good. We walked up the river lyn for 7 miles to the Rockford inn, lovely pub and a fantastic walk

Room Tip: Ask about the mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheather52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We arrived on the friday just after 2.30pm and was meet by Dave ,after a 3 hour journey provided us with a well needed cup of tea and biscuits.
He showed us to our room ,which was room 6 and it had a balcony and two chairs overlooking the town of lynton.
The room was clean ,airy and spaciuos for our our bags and walking boots .
Breakfast each day was lovely and hot and Anne always serviced us with a smile and asked about our day .
On the saturday we had planned a 20K walk from porlock back to lynton, however the bus times didn't match in with our plan , Dave kindly drove us to porlock weir where we started our walk from there.
The whole experience was great and we are planning to go back next year .

Room Tip: room 6 lovely views of town and hills .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Anne and Dave made us feel extremely welcome. We spent 4 nights - breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal. Rooms were spotlessly clean with the added advantage of a comfortable communal lounge. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#10 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Lodge Guest House

Property: Gable Lodge Guest House
Address: 35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anne, Dave and Rebecca would like to welcome you to Gable Lodge, Lynton, a family run licensed guest house offering family friendly bed and breakfast accommodation with evening meals available on request. We are keen to protect both the local and wider environment and are delighted to have won the  Devon Federation of Small Businesses 2009 Award for Environmental Responsibility. We hold a 5 star hygiene rating from North Devon Council. Gable Lodge Guest House is a grade 2 listed Victorian building close to all the attractions and amenities within the town. Lynton is ideally placed to give you the best of both the North Devon Coast and the Exmoor National Park and is linked to its twin town of Lynmouth by the famous water powered cliff railway. Gable Lodge Guest House is open all year and has 6 en-suite bedrooms, 4 double rooms, 1 twin / family room and 1 large family room. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, mini-fridge with fresh milk, new flat screen tv with inbuilt dvd plaver, radio alarm with ipod docking and hairdryer . All double beds have 100% cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gable Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing