We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gable Lodge Guest House
Ranked #14 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were starting to walk the SW coastal path and stayed here last weekend. We found the welcome warm and the breakfast excellent.
Sandwiches for the walk were happily provided with very little notice and were good fodder.
An excellent B & B, no complaints at all. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HILARY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Centrally located B&B in the small town of Lynton. Just a short walk to local amenities, the SWCP and to the Cliff Railway. We had a spacious room on the 2nd floor with a double and a single bed. The furniture was plain but tasteful. The en-suite was rather small, but with a large shower; the washbasin was outside the en-suite in the room. The breakfast was freshly prepared and left nothing to be desired. We welcomed the option to get packed lunches as there are not much possibilities to stop for a bite to eat on the next section of the SWCP. Altogether a good B&B with pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A two night stay gave us a very welcoming couple in Anne and Dave,splendid room,breakfasts and evening meal.
Ali and i cannot recommend it highly enough.We had the added bonus of a front bedroom with balcony,also a well equipped lounge.
Within short minutes walk to shops and railway,and/ or path to Lynmouth
Ian and Alison

Room Tip: Front bedroom with balcony a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idavies432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Located in the centre of Lynton, the hosts at Gable Lodge couldn't do enough for us. Breakfasts were excellent and even had home made marmalade and jams. After getting soaked through on a coastal walk, they couldn't do enough for us and also provided plenty of local info. Would recommend this B&B and also great value for money. Only slight downside, the en-suite could do with updating but was clean and functional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at Gable Lodge for one night in room 3 - a family room. The B&B was lovely - clean, friendly and close to all the local amenities. The room had one double bed and one single with an en-suite and was a good size for 2 adults and one child. The owners were really welcoming and the breakfast (inclusive of room rates) was great. They even put out crayons and a colouring book to keep our Little one amused during brekkie, which was a lovely gesture. We were only there briefly for one night but would definitely want to return. Excellent quality accommodation at a very reasonable price. Will definitely recommend - am looking forward to returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebra_zoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent two nights at Gable Lodge Guest House during our trip through UK. The House is located on the street with medium traffic. We were warmly welcomed at the beginning and received comfortable bedroom for two. Parking lot for four cars is located behind the house. Accommodation and traditional English breakfast were perfect. We felt almost like home. In walking distance there are many shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarmil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this room at the last minute and got lucky. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Lynton, especially for the price. We were warmly welcomed with a pot of tea & biscuits and Dave took the time to sit with us chatting about the local area and giving us advice. The breakfast was everything that you'd expect with a decent range of choices and most of the food was local (the Devon smoked kippers were especially tasty). Throughout the stay everything that we need was looked after by Dave and Anne. For example, we mentioned going out for fish & chips and Anne was immediately on the phone for us to make sure that they would still be open.

We stayed in a great room at the top of the house that had stunning views and a small private balcony. There was a mini-fridge with fresh milk and a good selection of hot beverages available in the room. The bathroom was small but very clean and modern with a shower only. The water pressure might have not satisfied some, but my wife and I found that it was more than adequate. A small price to pay for being at the top with amazing views.

After walking around the town I'd say that this is one of the best kept guest houses. Also good to see a green-business award!

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the top floor and has stunning views from a private balcony, but if you're fussy ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickD242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#10 of 23 in Lynton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 23 in Lynton
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 23 in Lynton
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Lodge Guest House

Address: 35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £65 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anne, Dave and Rebecca would like to welcome you to Gable Lodge, Lynton, a family run licensed guest house offering family friendly bed and breakfast accommodation with evening meals available on request. We are keen to protect both the local and wider environment and are delighted to have won the Devon Federation of Small Businesses 2009 Award for Environmental Responsibility. We hold a 5 star hygiene rating from North Devon Council. Gable Lodge Guest House is a grade 2 listed Victorian building close to all the attractions and amenities within the town. Lynton is ideally placed to give you the best of both the North Devon Coast and the Exmoor National Park and is linked to its twin town of Lynmouth by the famous water powered cliff railway. Gable Lodge Guest House is open all year and has 6 en-suite bedrooms, 4 double rooms, 1 twin / family room and 1 large family room. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, mini-fridge with fresh milk, new flat screen tv with inbuilt dvd plaver, radio alarm with ipod docking and hairdryer . All double beds have 100% cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Gable Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing