We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gable Lodge Guest House
Ranked #15 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcome home away from home”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at this bed and breakfast late in the afternoon, tired and concerned about finding a bed for the night. We were welcomed by Dave, and not only showed a clean, comfortable room, but we were also welcomed by the hot coffee and shortbread. Our room had a very small on suite, but we found that fine, and loved the small balcony to sit on to watch village. Breakfast was great, my husband especially enjoyed the homemade marmalade. We were sorry to leave this welcoming and well run home.

Room Tip: This is a quiet village, our room overlooked the main road, no traffic! Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWillsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for this, glad you enjoyed your stay and the marmalade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We all had a fantastic time, very welcoming arrival and beautifully comfortable rooms. Could not fault Gable Lodge at all. Thank you very much for such a lovely stay and for letting us use your fridge!!
The perfect place to stay for the most beautiful wedding weekend! Read less
Likes:
Comfy bed, lovely bathroom, balcony, breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were friendly and would do absolutely anything to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpinderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks Holli, glad the weekend went so well. Lovely to be part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The guest house was just excellent. As soon as we arrived David came down and helped us unload our car. He showed us to our room and explained about the keys, where things were and advised regarding best pubs, places to eat and visit etc. The B&B also do evening meals too.
The room was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and everything worked efficiently (TV, shower, kettle etc). There was a balcony and we sat outside watching the world go by with our cups of tea.
There was off road parking and we were offered safe bicycle storage shed.
The bed was very comfortable with nice thick and warm bed covers; we were very toasty.
The guest house was very warm which was just as well as was very cold outside.
The breakfast was between 8 and 9am and was of great quality and quantity. You could help yourself to as much cereal, juices, fruit as you wanted. The full English breakfast was very nice and filling. My girl friend Jo had kippers and these were very good.
For the money we paid we thought it to be very good value.
In summary great room, great hosts and the B&B being very well positioned for exploring the area by bike and bicycles. The proprietors were very nice people and put themselves out to be helpful - excellent customer service.
This B&B is open in and out of season and takes people for single nights which is useful to know if you are a passing through walker or cyclist.
Ed Lait - Locks Heath, Southampton

Room Tip: Rooms would be quieter on the north side but as Lynton is a quiet back water, very traditional place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Gables Lodge in October (two adults and two children, 4 and 5) for a wedding. We were welcomed on arrival with tea and shortbread, which was lovely, and shown to our family room. It was comfortable and had a separate bedroom for the children, which even had some toys in (firstly it was great they had their own room, and they loved the bunk beds, and to have toys too was a nice bonus).

We spent a comfortable night, and had a great breakfast. Fruits, yoghurt, cereals, toast and great fry up. We couldn't fault it, it was really tasty.

We stayed two nights and were really happy and would definitely recommend Gables Lodge to others. It was good value too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were starting to walk the SW coastal path and stayed here last weekend. We found the welcome warm and the breakfast excellent.
Sandwiches for the walk were happily provided with very little notice and were good fodder.
An excellent B & B, no complaints at all. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HILARY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Centrally located B&B in the small town of Lynton. Just a short walk to local amenities, the SWCP and to the Cliff Railway. We had a spacious room on the 2nd floor with a double and a single bed. The furniture was plain but tasteful. The en-suite was rather small, but with a large shower; the washbasin was outside the en-suite in the room. The breakfast was freshly prepared and left nothing to be desired. We welcomed the option to get packed lunches as there are not much possibilities to stop for a bite to eat on the next section of the SWCP. Altogether a good B&B with pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A two night stay gave us a very welcoming couple in Anne and Dave,splendid room,breakfasts and evening meal.
Ali and i cannot recommend it highly enough.We had the added bonus of a front bedroom with balcony,also a well equipped lounge.
Within short minutes walk to shops and railway,and/ or path to Lynmouth
Ian and Alison

Room Tip: Front bedroom with balcony a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idavies432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#10 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#12 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Lodge Guest House

Property: Gable Lodge Guest House
Address: 35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anne, Dave and Rebecca would like to welcome you to Gable Lodge, Lynton, a family run licensed guest house offering family friendly bed and breakfast accommodation with evening meals available on request. We are keen to protect both the local and wider environment and are delighted to have won the  Devon Federation of Small Businesses 2009 Award for Environmental Responsibility. We hold a 5 star hygiene rating from North Devon Council. Gable Lodge Guest House is a grade 2 listed Victorian building close to all the attractions and amenities within the town. Lynton is ideally placed to give you the best of both the North Devon Coast and the Exmoor National Park and is linked to its twin town of Lynmouth by the famous water powered cliff railway. Gable Lodge Guest House is open all year and has 6 en-suite bedrooms, 4 double rooms, 1 twin / family room and 1 large family room. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, mini-fridge with fresh milk, new flat screen tv with inbuilt dvd plaver, radio alarm with ipod docking and hairdryer . All double beds have 100% cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gable Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing