We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gable Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gable Lodge Guest House
Ranked #14 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Bed and Breakfast was nice enough, but nothing special. Both bedroom and ensuite bathroom clean, but small. Breakfast was okay. Well-located near the centre of Lynton. They offer evening meals and special lunches, but Lynton and Lynmouth have an abundance of good places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks for the review. For £70 you stayed in our largest room with a balcony which we believe offers good value for money.
We are not sure what you mean when you say we do special lunches as we do not offer any lunches except packed lunches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Anne and Dave really have it sussed .The overall ambiance calm and cool manner that operates at this idyllic guest house is truly worth experiencing.Apart from the outstanding food the willingness to make your stay the most comfortable and accommodating as they possibly can is not to much trouble for a couple who obviously love what they do . We loved our stay and we were both so well rested and fulfilled after our stay we can think of only one hotel we can visit the next time we are in lynton (we've been three times before) .I can only say that that our stay was superb and we will return thank you so much tina and simon cardiff

Room Tip: a balcony room any really you will get fantastic service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks you two. Lovely to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

There seems to be a lot of good reviews of this hotel but I had a terrible night at this hotel in Lynton. The owners were very welcoming – but it went downhill from there. Whilst the room was clean, the shower temperature was impossible to control and I had to settle for a luke warm wash in a very small shower cubicle in a very small bathroom.
Time for bed? The double bed was rock hard. I’ve slept on hard beds in India and elsewhere, and this one was right up there with the least comfortable of them.
Then there was the noise. It was impossible to get to sleep because of the noise from other guests both before they went to bed as they laughed and joked in the garden blow my room and after they went to bed when the thin walls allowed me to hear, well, pretty well everything. Worst, though, was the snoring reverberating through the wall. All night.
It was a miserable night’s sleep. And isn't a good night's sleep one of the most important things when you stay in hotel?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herodotus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that things were not up to standard.
We know we have some firm mattresses, but we also have a mattress topper if it is too firm. We will investigate the shower, you are the first to mention the temperature was difficult to control. We did have an empty room at the back of the house on the night you stayed, had we known the noise was a problem we would have offered a move.
The walls in our Victorian house are not particularly thin, however on a hot summer night everyone had their windows fully open which is perhaps why you were disturbed by the snoring in the next room.
What is most upsetting is that you did not mention anything to us during your stay. We aim to give every guest an excellent stay, so if we get something wrong it would be good to be told about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This guest house is simply the nicest,cleanest & most welcoming guest house ive ever stayed in.The owners dave & Anne were so welcoming to us & very kind,they couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
We have 2 young children & we stayed in the family room which was perfect for us & so clean & cosy.
The breakfast was lovely too!
We will definately be staying here again when we come back to lynton!
Thanx Dave & Anne!:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We are only glad to have helped make your stay a happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had traveled thru Cornwall prior to arriving in Lynton. Gable House was a pleasant site at the end of the day. Host Dave welcomed us with coffee a nice chat and tips for dinner. About the house; comfortable, clean and bright room with the best bedding from our whole trip, tasty breakfast, lovely well kept historical house. The location of Gable House is the best location for Lynton and Lynmouth. Lynmouth is an easy journey by the cliff tram right down the street. You could easily spend three days at the Gables exploring the area with easy walks. The whole area is charmed and beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BailsMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for this review. Good to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at this bed and breakfast late in the afternoon, tired and concerned about finding a bed for the night. We were welcomed by Dave, and not only showed a clean, comfortable room, but we were also welcomed by the hot coffee and shortbread. Our room had a very small on suite, but we found that fine, and loved the small balcony to sit on to watch village. Breakfast was great, my husband especially enjoyed the homemade marmalade. We were sorry to leave this welcoming and well run home.

Room Tip: This is a quiet village, our room overlooked the main road, no traffic! Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWillsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for this, glad you enjoyed your stay and the marmalade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We all had a fantastic time, very welcoming arrival and beautifully comfortable rooms. Could not fault Gable Lodge at all. Thank you very much for such a lovely stay and for letting us use your fridge!!
The perfect place to stay for the most beautiful wedding weekend! Read less
Likes:
Comfy bed, lovely bathroom, balcony, breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were friendly and would do absolutely anything to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpinderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Gable Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks Holli, glad the weekend went so well. Lovely to be part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#9 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Lodge Guest House

Property: Gable Lodge Guest House
Address: 35 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anne, Dave and Rebecca would like to welcome you to Gable Lodge, Lynton, a family run licensed guest house offering family friendly bed and breakfast accommodation with evening meals available on request. We are keen to protect both the local and wider environment and are delighted to have won the  Devon Federation of Small Businesses 2009 Award for Environmental Responsibility. We hold a 5 star hygiene rating from North Devon Council. Gable Lodge Guest House is a grade 2 listed Victorian building close to all the attractions and amenities within the town. Lynton is ideally placed to give you the best of both the North Devon Coast and the Exmoor National Park and is linked to its twin town of Lynmouth by the famous water powered cliff railway. Gable Lodge Guest House is open all year and has 6 en-suite bedrooms, 4 double rooms, 1 twin / family room and 1 large family room. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, mini-fridge with fresh milk, new flat screen tv with inbuilt dvd plaver, radio alarm with ipod docking and hairdryer . All double beds have 100% cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gable Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing