We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Easter weekend ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lodge Guest House
Ranked #5 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Easter weekend ever!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived late on Thursday night a bit frazzled from the journey and were greeted by the lovely Linda and John with home made stem ginger biscuits and a cup of tea in hand. We instantly forgot the dramas of bank holiday traffic and finally felt like we were on holiday!
The room was very clean, bright and a comfy bed and we woke up to the sound of the river in the valley below. The garden is beautiful and we were surrounded by nature...glancing out of the window we spotted several deer on the hill opposite...(John has a good set of binoculours that he didn't mind us looking through).
The quality of the beakfast was excellent...we were even given fresh fruit, which is a bit of a novelty in a B&B!
There was lots to do in the surrounding area and we found the local knowledge from Linda and John really useful and they were more then happy to spend time helping us find the best places to go. Just around the corner is the Valley of the Rocks which is a stunning part of the North Devon coastline with wild goats and dramatic views.
We have definately found our favourite British holiday destination and will certainly be coming again and again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
276
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I recently visited Pine Lodge for the night and found it a most pleasurable experience. The rooms were well done and very clean, which is a priority for me. I am also a fussy (some might say difficult) vegetarian but Linda catered for my requirements perfectly, without making me feel that it was anything out of the ordinary. John gave me a lot of tips about getting the best out of Lynton and, because of his local knowledge and advice about what to see, I will definitely be back. Apart from all that, Pine Lodge is just a really relaxing place to be, set in a stunning valley and walking distance from the sea - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: They're all great but one with a view of the deer would be my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbrandedcow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Linda and John were so welcoming. A lovely pot of coffee on arrival (and offered a slice of cake but we couldn't eat anymore, we'd only just had gorgeous fish and chips in the town). John was able to advise us on local places of interest and chatted with us about the places we wanted to see while we were there. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, well decorated in a nice style which suited the house. The beds were so comfortable, we both slept very well. It was just lovely to wake up to the sound of the river and the birds outside - so very relaxing. We're really glad that we chose the Pine Lodge not least because it's has parking on site and that was important to us. We had a terrific stay and we'll be back. Have already started to recommend this B&B to our friends.

Room Tip: I honestly think you'd be delighted with any room at this B&B. The standard of cleanliness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Pine Lodge for 3 wonderful nights. Linda and John are some of the best hosts we have ever had. The welcome was friendly, the cup of tea and beautiful homemade cake after a long journey greatly appreciated. The room was extremely clean and beautifully presented. Tea, coffe and homemade cookies provided. John's knowledge of where to go and things not to miss invaluable. The breakfast was plentiful, and of the best quality. looking forward to a return visit later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front to look over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I put my faith in my friend who made all of the arrangements for our girly weekend away in Lynton and was not disappointed! John and Linda were lovely hosts, always happy to provide guidance/recommendation on activities around the area - sadly we didn't make it to Le Bistro. Breakfast was lovely - the best vegetarian English breakfast I ever had :) Note: Mobile reception is very sketchy due to the area so a lovely place to be if you want to shut yourself away from everything for a few days. Felt like home away from home. Thanks for the lovely stay, Seri & Benny

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CempakaSeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Really warm and friendly welcome, the owners really kind, beautiful room with magnificient view. Breakfast very very good. Super b&b.
Unfortunately our stop at Pine Lodge was very short, but magnificent, A perfect place to spend time to rest. In the room you can find free wi-fi and taste good biscuits, drink tea or coffee. the bed is very comfortable and I slept very well. Thanks for all Linda & John!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and are definitely going back. We had a room with a view over the valley and the deer came over to sun bathe. We were welcomed by John and Linda and you couldn't ask for a nicer welcome. Good local knowledge, restaurant recommendations in a lovely setting. The breakfast was fantastic and the room was beautiful, and value for money. And the beds were rally comfy! If you like walking this is a great base. And it has parking! But we never moved the car. Lynton and Lynmouth have enough to keep you occupied.
Can't thank John and Linda enough.

Andy and Katie.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge Guest House

Property: Pine Lodge Guest House
Address: Pine Lodge Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Pine Lodge in Lynton, Devon. Pine Lodge is a Four-Star Silver Victorian Gentleman's residence, set on the valley side of the West Lyn river, with fantastic views over the wooded hillside of the Watersmeet Estate. It is situated along the Lynway, which affords views over Lynton and Lynmouth, just a few minutes easy walk from the town. Here you will be able to relax, unwind and sleep peacefully, as the only sounds are those of the river tumbling over the rocks below and bird song in the morning. Footpaths to Exmoor start at our own front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Pine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing