We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the B & Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“simply the B & Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in Pine lodge for 2 nights last month and had a fantastic stay. John and Linda were so welcoming and we really enjoyed the area. Despite our stay being short we enjoyed some cider at the local pub, went for a stomp on the edge of exmoor in the snow and went for an extremely picturesque run to the valley of rocks to shake off the hangover. The view from our room across the valley was lovely and we would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    18
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
260
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were made very welcome by Linda and John from the minute we arrived, a restorative cup of tea and a beautiful home made cake was provided which was greatly appreciated after our long journey.

Our room, was tastefully decorated and very clean, it was light and airy, with a lovely view, the bathroom was pristine. We enjoyed the home made biscuits, and the breakfasts were a delight.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and would recommend this lovely guest house and the equally lovely hosts without any hesitation. Good luck to both from Jean & Gill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

After a long drive from the North West of England, we were made welcome with a pot of tea and cakes. John and Linda were excellent hosts and made our stay special. Nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our three night holiday. The rooms were spotless with top quality decor and linen throughout and the food was great too. We will certainly stay here again and would strongly recommend Pine Lodge as a place to stay for anyone visiting the area, especially walkers.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the valley view rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneandleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived late on Thursday night a bit frazzled from the journey and were greeted by the lovely Linda and John with home made stem ginger biscuits and a cup of tea in hand. We instantly forgot the dramas of bank holiday traffic and finally felt like we were on holiday!
The room was very clean, bright and a comfy bed and we woke up to the sound of the river in the valley below. The garden is beautiful and we were surrounded by nature...glancing out of the window we spotted several deer on the hill opposite...(John has a good set of binoculours that he didn't mind us looking through).
The quality of the beakfast was excellent...we were even given fresh fruit, which is a bit of a novelty in a B&B!
There was lots to do in the surrounding area and we found the local knowledge from Linda and John really useful and they were more then happy to spend time helping us find the best places to go. Just around the corner is the Valley of the Rocks which is a stunning part of the North Devon coastline with wild goats and dramatic views.
We have definately found our favourite British holiday destination and will certainly be coming again and again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I recently visited Pine Lodge for the night and found it a most pleasurable experience. The rooms were well done and very clean, which is a priority for me. I am also a fussy (some might say difficult) vegetarian but Linda catered for my requirements perfectly, without making me feel that it was anything out of the ordinary. John gave me a lot of tips about getting the best out of Lynton and, because of his local knowledge and advice about what to see, I will definitely be back. Apart from all that, Pine Lodge is just a really relaxing place to be, set in a stunning valley and walking distance from the sea - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: They're all great but one with a view of the deer would be my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbrandedcow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Linda and John were so welcoming. A lovely pot of coffee on arrival (and offered a slice of cake but we couldn't eat anymore, we'd only just had gorgeous fish and chips in the town). John was able to advise us on local places of interest and chatted with us about the places we wanted to see while we were there. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, well decorated in a nice style which suited the house. The beds were so comfortable, we both slept very well. It was just lovely to wake up to the sound of the river and the birds outside - so very relaxing. We're really glad that we chose the Pine Lodge not least because it's has parking on site and that was important to us. We had a terrific stay and we'll be back. Have already started to recommend this B&B to our friends.

Room Tip: I honestly think you'd be delighted with any room at this B&B. The standard of cleanliness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Pine Lodge for 3 wonderful nights. Linda and John are some of the best hosts we have ever had. The welcome was friendly, the cup of tea and beautiful homemade cake after a long journey greatly appreciated. The room was extremely clean and beautifully presented. Tea, coffe and homemade cookies provided. John's knowledge of where to go and things not to miss invaluable. The breakfast was plentiful, and of the best quality. looking forward to a return visit later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front to look over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge Guest House

Property: Pine Lodge Guest House
Address: Pine Lodge Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Pine Lodge in Lynton, Devon. Pine Lodge is a Four-Star Silver Victorian Gentleman's residence, set on the valley side of the West Lyn river, with fantastic views over the wooded hillside of the Watersmeet Estate. It is situated along the Lynway, which affords views over Lynton and Lynmouth, just a few minutes easy walk from the town. Here you will be able to relax, unwind and sleep peacefully, as the only sounds are those of the river tumbling over the rocks below and bird song in the morning. Footpaths to Exmoor start at our own front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing