We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy home to spend your holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy home to spend your holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My friends and I, 4 girls went to Exmoor National Park during the bank holiday break and we spent fantastic 2 nights in this lovely B & B, or I would say cozy home. The location is perfect, just 15 mins walk to the sea, to the gorgeous valley floor, 8 mins walk to the town center. It's in the upper middle of the mountain, you can have a very good bird view of the national park. The most important thing is the lovely couple who hosted us. They are soooo nice, friendly and gave us a lot of information of the hiking route. There is a wide choice of breakfast, you will never get bored. The room is super super clean and cozy. All of the atmosphere created by this lovely couple just made me feel like my 2nd home! I highly recommend anyone who will go to Exmoor national park choose this lovely place to have a break.!!!!!! 5 stars! You deserve it! Apologies for the late review :P-- YYY

Room Tip: The room with the mountain view is great! Bright sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanyan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
276
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Attentive and friendly hosts who did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
A beautifully clean, warm and characterful house with a homely feel.
Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice to suit all tastes and top quality ingredients.
Stunning hillside location - very peaceful.
Delightful traffic free short walk into Lynton - leave the car behind.

Room Tip: Room 5 includes a useful and cosy sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelinePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On the whole we tend to stay in branded hotels, Premier Inn & Holiday Inn, we've not stayed in a guest house for a very long time. Fancying a quiet night away in the Lynton / Lynmouth area we did the usual internet searches and Pine Lodge stood out as a firm favourite with trip advisors contributors, we figured we'd give it ago.

As other travellers have said there is a steep hill up to the lodge, you'd be crazy to reverse up it, having already handled the hills around Lynton this hill is very easy.

Linda and John greeted us, with John carrying our case up to our room, they are a lovely couple and we felt at home straight away, John asked us if we'd like a coffee in the lounge which we did with Linda bringing out a lovely slice of lemon drizzle cake each, we had a nice chat and a great cup of coffee, or three, as we were talking a robin swooped down and landed on our car mirror, I grabbed a few pics of the various song birds that were flying around, they even have a pair of binoculars in the lounge for you to see the wildlife around the lodge.

We stayed in room 1 which is a great size for a couple, very clean with all the creature comforts that you would need, a TV, free wifi, tea and coffee making, the on-suite bathroom has a good sized bath with over bath shower and was really clean.

The Cottage inn is at the end of the road and was really good, the pub offers food after 6pm when the kitchen opens, the menu offers £5.00 meals which are the same as the main meal but half the size, we went for the home made pizzas which were out of this world, the booze was cheaper than my local which was a welcome surprise. Even better was the pub was off the grid, no mobile signal and their free wifi was not switched on, so we managed to ditch the smartphones and be cut off from the outside world, it really cleared our heads from a hard week.

The bed was very comfortable offering a good nights sleep, the guest house is so quiet with only the sound of bird song being heard outside, other guests were staying at the lodge but we didn't even know they were there until we came down for breakfast.

There was a good choice of breakfasts that puts the chain hotels to shame, especially as it's included in the price.

So we only stayed for a night, but the peace and quiet of the lodge, the hospitality of the hosts, getting to meet their lovely Springer Spaniel, having a good nights sleep in a comfortable, clean well aired room made us feel like we'd been at a spa for a week.

Would we stay again? Yep!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tondoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having stayed at Pine Lodge on a couple of previous occasions, it was great to be back.

As previously, the place is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is excellent and Linda and John are exceptional hosts, we had a very good time there,

John is very knowledgeable about the area and they are both very welcoming and helpful it is well worth a visit.

We wish them every success and hope they have a great season.

Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPJeannieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Had a super two night stay at Pine Lodge. Lovely room, super breakfast and very friendly and welcoming owners who offered plenty of advice on where to go, where to eat etc. Would definitely recommend and hope to make a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just had another great stay at Pine Lodge, the group and I spent 4 nights and had another fantastic trip. This is the second time we've stayed here and would definitely recommend it. John and Linda took care of us and catered for all our needs,(even the crispy bacon). The guest house is situated in an idyllic valley setting with beautiful views, countryside and wildlife. We even managed to see the deer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night ahead of a race we were running and it was lovely. The owners were great, very happy to accommodate our early breakfast needs, and even gave us some home made granola bars to help with the race. The room was great, very comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. Only slight quibble would be lack of shower pressure, but that was all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge Guest House

Property: Pine Lodge Guest House
Address: Pine Lodge Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Pine Lodge in Lynton, Devon. Pine Lodge is a Four-Star Silver Victorian Gentleman's residence, set on the valley side of the West Lyn river, with fantastic views over the wooded hillside of the Watersmeet Estate. It is situated along the Lynway, which affords views over Lynton and Lynmouth, just a few minutes easy walk from the town. Here you will be able to relax, unwind and sleep peacefully, as the only sounds are those of the river tumbling over the rocks below and bird song in the morning. Footpaths to Exmoor start at our own front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Pine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lodge Guest House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing