We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & good food”
Review of The Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #16 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & good food”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Had a meal here for our wedding anniversary. It was very good. Don't be put off by the fairly limited on-line menu as they have daily specials - about 8 when we visited, including 2 fish dishes plus lobster (which was delicious), 2 veggie, 2 meat and a 'bargain meal' (forget the term they used). Prices were reasonable (half a lobster was £13.50) and staff very friendly. Well worth a try.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    10
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

This was our 4th trip to lyn bridge and only the 2nd time it was open. The new owners Paul & Clare are excellent hosts & their staff really friendly. The pub has now reverted back to its original name The Cottage Inn & they have refurbished it beautifully, a nice, warm cosy traditional pub. We stayed for a week at the neighbouring campsite & ended up eating there 6 times as the food was so good & the atmosphere really enjoyable. Do not miss out on this little treasure!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escotchbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This pub has had its ups and downs since we have been visiting Lynton. However, it's just reopened with new owners. The landlord was friendly and welcoming, the beer was good, the interior has been refurbished. We were very impressed. The barmaids were fun, with excellent customer service skills. The food looked good too, although, to be fair, we haven't eaten there yet - we certainly plan to on a future visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Was undergoing refurbishment but new owners were friendly and enthusiastic about their plans. Whilst venue has a way to go yet the food was lovely including the fish specials which the landlord had caught fresh that morning. We stayed very close to the pub. We wish them well with their venture and hope to return one day to see the finished works!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelamusic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harcombes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We have very recently stayed at this Inn. Upon booking our room, we were advised that they were in the middle of reburbishing area's of the Inn but that some rooms had been done. I went ahead and booked partly because I liked the look of the place and also because of the honesty. As soon as we walked through the door we were made to feel extremely welcome, and by the end of the night it was like you were in your local. Everyone from Mel and Steve (the new owners) to the bloke that popped in after walking his dog, included you in the conversation and made you feel at home.

The room and ensuite was very clean with a lovely view, plenty of hot running water to fill the deep bath tub and the bed was very comfortable. Within 5 mins of appearing in the dining room for our breakfast we had our tea and toast put before us and full english not long after.

We are going to go back in the summer we were that happy with the place and have recommended it to friends and family.

I know there is some negative feedback about this inn but that was under the old owners. Mel and Steve have done really well to do what work they have in the short time they have been there and I would urge anyone who wants to saty in that area to give the Bridge Inn a try.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank harcombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The Inn itself is situated in an extremerly attractive area with a lovely stream flowing next to it, albeit right next to the inn some rubbish has been thrown into the stream. There seems to be a couple who run this quiet inn, and the gentleman is extremerly friendly, but the lady seems to find any customer a burden and seems to prefer to sit around and watch TV. Having tasted the food, both my family and myself were extremerly disappointed. It was extremerly bland and tasted (and looked) as if it had been left out uncovered for quite some time. The roast potatoes looked like boiled potatoes that had been dipped into fat for a minute, and the stuffing was runny. When the gentleman had served us and left, we were quickly told by the lady that she was shutting and we had to hurry our drinks. Luckily the area that it is situated is breath taking with plenty of other lovely places to eat which made up for the lack of basic customer service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cath0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed here on a valentines break for 2 nights.

We were in a double room that overlooked the river, which was clean and tidy with a lovely bathroom. The bed was not the comfiest, but the friendly family atmosphere in the bar more than made up for it.

Cooked breakfast was tasty and included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#18 of 23 in Lynton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: Cottage Inn | Lynbridge, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage inn is under new management, it's a stunning inn overlooking a river, It is a family run business and has a Thai restaurant serving fresh Thai food during evenings in a riverside restaurant. Our Menu is not huge but everything is cooked using fresh vegetables and meat from local suppliers, our style of food is based more around street food than fine dining, we hope that our atmosphere is relaxed, this then gives a true feeling of how Thai people enjoy their food. The Cottage inn is also a small guest house and has a beer garden overlooking the river where light lunch snacks such as baguettes, home made pies and other items are served daily. We welcome every customer to visit us, please do remember when deciding if you would like to book a table that our approach is not fine dining, just simple fresh Thai food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Lynton
The Cottage Inn Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing