We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, no frills accommodation”
Review of The Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #16 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed here on a valentines break for 2 nights.

We were in a double room that overlooked the river, which was clean and tidy with a lovely bathroom. The bed was not the comfiest, but the friendly family atmosphere in the bar more than made up for it.

Cooked breakfast was tasty and included in the price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2008

I happened upon this quaint country pub, I was welcomed by the owner and introduced to his wife. The atmosphere from the putset was one of friendliness and of family tradition.
The room was warm and very comfortable.
The food was exquisite, the menu was extensive and varied, the food that I ordered was perfect and well cooked.
The beer was excellent and thet wine list more adequate with pleanty of choice.
The staff were friendly and graceous.
Nothing was too much trouble and all this for such a reasonable price. I have stayed in places far morre expensive and never had the quality and service that I expereinced.
I have no hesitation at all in recommending the establishment to any visitors to this lovely area of outstanding beauty.

I have read the other review and I just cannot believe that the person who wrote it stayed inthe same place it is totally unfounded in their opinions are tantamount to being insideous.

The Bridge Inn is welcoming warm and friendly with good food and drink what more could one ask.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StayerSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We had the misfortune to stay at the Bridge Inn, Lynbridge, in the Autumn last year, and the only way I can describe it is awful.

When we arrived, we were met at the door by a miserable woman and her toddler, and taken up to our horrible little room.

We had had a long drive that day, and so decided that we would eat there that night. What a mistake. The food was well below standard. All I managed to eat was the sorry looking side salad that came with my tasteless fish and under cooked boiled potatoes.

I know they say you get what you pay for, and you don't pay alot to stay at the Bridge Inn, but, it is expensive if you consider the miserable service, horrible room and dreadful food.

We love Exmoor, Lynton and Lynmouth, but would not book the Bridge Inn even if they paid us. Its off to the fabulous Tarr Farm Inn for us next time. That is one place that has to been seen to be believed for all the right reasons.

8  Thank Judicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank RaskolnikovMosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#17 of 23 in Lynton
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Address: Cottage Inn | Lynbridge, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage inn is under new management, it's a stunning inn overlooking a river, It is a family run business and has a Thai restaurant serving fresh Thai food during evenings in a riverside restaurant. Our Menu is not huge but everything is cooked using fresh vegetables and meat from local suppliers, our style of food is based more around street food than fine dining, we hope that our atmosphere is relaxed, this then gives a true feeling of how Thai people enjoy their food. The Cottage inn is also a small guest house and has a beer garden overlooking the river where light lunch snacks such as baguettes, home made pies and other items are served daily. We welcome every customer to visit us, please do remember when deciding if you would like to book a table that our approach is not fine dining, just simple fresh Thai food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Lynton
The Cottage Inn Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing