We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Devon ! :)”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinai House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Frinton on sea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“THE place to stay in Devon ! :)”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Fantastic place, fantastic views and fantastic hosts!!!!!!!!!.This is definately the place to stay for a relaxing break, whether with friends or as a couple...or even on your own. Every room in the house is clean and homely, with fantastic views over the bay and beyond.
Debbie and Nigel are the perfect hosts and very easy-going, with a good sense of humour (which they needed with our group!).. . .nothing is ever too much trouble....even down to offering a pair of comfy slippers!! They make you feel welcome the minute you step through the door. The food is scrumtious, ('truely, truely scrumptious') and both breakfast and dinner menus offered an excellent range of choice.
CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN !...Had so much fun with a really nutty group of friends...including an 'extra special' friend! :))
(p.s......don't try blowing out the little tea lights that Debbie leaves by the front door, as one of our group tried, in vain, to do !)

Room Tip: You won't be dissapointed with any of the rooms....they're all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaronifrinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
156
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Best place to stay in Devon by far!! Debbie and Nigel make you feel so at home & relaxed. We had 6 nights in a lovely room with sea views. Great food-beds & company. The place is spotless from top to bottom. Cant wait to get back there!! Trevor TMB

Room Tip: All the rooms i viewed looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevortmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Debbie and Nigel just cannot do enough to make your stay the best ever. We would thorougly reccomend Sinai as it has to be the best in Devon, not just the North. We stayed for 6 nights and really didn't want to go home. The most comfortable beds, the best breakfast, the cleanest guest house you will ever find, the most welcoming of hosts, and when you open the curtains in the morning and see the views it will always put a smile on your face. Can't wait to return next year. Fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, these are the best (actually they all have a sea view!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobbyTC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Decided to go to Devon on holiday a day earlier than planned and stayed just one night here although i would have been happy to stay longer.
Debbie and Nigel are good hosts and the room was clean with a view over the coast and sea that was just delightful to sit and look at.
Debbie made a very tasty breakfast in the morning and we left wishing we had discovered this place before.
We will return for longer on our next trip.
In summary lovely hosts, nice house and great views.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THUMPER553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at Sinai house for 2 nights and did not want to leave. Debbie and Nigel were amazing, the rooms are clean and have beautiful views. Breakfast is delicious, the best bacon in town!! Debbie was great at suggesting where to eat, drink and what was worth seeing. Nigel was kind enough to give two girls in heels struggling downhill a lift into town:-) They were just great! This was the best B&B I've come across in my travels and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, and had a wonderful time at the Sinai Hotel. The hotel and room was all we could ask for, and had excellent views. Breakfasts where always good. We ate in the hotel and the meals were very good. We shall be returning later in the year. Debbie and Nigel where great hosts

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwoodwidger, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Sinai house has got to be the best B&B in lynton! We felt very welcomed, rooms where comfortable with great views and the food was amazing!
We will definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Property: Sinai House
Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing