We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant - hope to return soon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinai House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant - hope to return soon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night during a spell of excellent UK weather in late July. We made a late booking the night before. Making the booking was very straightforward and email confirmation was sent immediately together with a evening menu to choose our meal for the following night.

On arrival the hotel was quite tricky to find being tucked up a very narrow and steep road in Lynton. Google maps places the pin incorrectly so don't rely on folllowing the blue dot on your iPhone if that's what you normally use.

The building is full of character. Lovely large social areas, high ceilings etc. We were given a very friendly welcome by Debbie and the system for the 'open' bar explained. This was a great start.

Our double room had outstanding views and was nice and large. Everything seemed very clean and well looked after. One little negative was the shower. I like a good strong shower with lots of space but this was quite weak and the cubicle a bit small. This is the only criticism though as overall the room was excellent.

We has asked for an evening meal. This was very convenient for our stay as we didn't want to have to go out. The food was ok, the main in particular was tasty with a good piece of sirloin steak being prepared well. We felt really well looked after by Debbie.

The lounge was very cosy to relax in after the meal and there were a selection of board games to choose from.

We had a really good nights sleep. Quiet room and a comfy bed.

Breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable too.

Overall - we thought the hotel was excellent and superb value for money. Can't wait to return next time the sun returns to the UK!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
152
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I could find no fault with Sinai House. The breakfast had good choice and generous portions. The room was clean and comfortable, with thoughtful touches like biscuits sweets and bottled water. Debbie was warm and generous, full of information and even volunteered to wash my walking socks. A lovely terrace with a great view. Sinai House is within easy walking distance of the town centre.

Room Tip: Single is great value. En-suite shower. Loo across the landing but was for sole use by single room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had a great stay at Sinai House, when i got to the hotel i was made to feel really welcome i had a lovely meal in the dining room then i had a short walk to the pub for a beer, had a good nights sleep and had one of Nigels full english breakfasts in the morning which was excellent and set me up for the rest of the day. Debbie and Nigel are wonderfull hosts they have a great knowledge of Lynton and the surrounding area from places to eat and drink to places to go and visit ,local walks and activities. My room was spotless and the bed was comfortable and a view to die for what more could you ask.I booked up for five nights and stayed for six and will certainly go back again. 11/10 top marks.

David Hayhoe stayed 14th July to 20th July.

Room Tip: From what i heard from all the other guests all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinaihouse1, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it means a lot to us. Thank you, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at Sinai House 3 nights this week, Debbie and Nigel so welcoming, our room was spotless and had lovely views. Breakfasts were great, lots of choice and well done to Nigel for fab cooked breakfasts. Debbie gave us lots of tips where to go for evening meals - there was a lovely walk from behind the hotel about 6 minutes to The Cottage Inn, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparlingwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinaihouse1, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it means a lot to us & we do read them! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was our first holiday in a long time and our stay at Sinai House made it an unforgettable experience. It's easily the best place to stay in Lynton - and probably in Devon - in every respect; the hotel is nicely furnished, comfortable, well-equipped and clean; the breakfasts are phenomenal and the 'help yourself' bar is a nice touch! The views are lovely, even on a wet day, and Debbie and Nigel are the most welcoming, kind, friendly and helpful people you could wish to meet! Nothing was too much trouble, we learnt a lot about the local area from them and we would heartily recommend a stay here. We very much hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelleM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinaihouse1, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. So pleased that oyu enjoyed your stay with us. Can't belive how quickly a week goes! Take care, here's to more holidays for you two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Just had the best stay at Sinai house Lynton. Debi and Nigel you are great hostsand your
Hotel is wonderful. Made even better by the great views. Thanks you very much regards Neil and Jo.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grainger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinaihouse1, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, hope that the rest of your birthday was fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Wonderful hotel, central and within easy reach of restautants, pubs etc. Rooms clean, well decorated, furnished and with great views. Must agree with other reviews, Debbie and Nigel are the best hosts. Breakfast is great and we had an evening meal there which was also good. Highly recommend here and will definitely go back. A home from home.

Room Tip: We saw a lot of the rooms and they all looked very good, so no negatives. All seem to have sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinaihouse1, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your group were such great fun, we love it when breakfast is entertaining!! Hope to see you all again one day. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Property: Sinai House
Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for a cream tea or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine list and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 5 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin en-suite and 2 single with private facilities. Our breakfast is amazing, we really go to town for you.There is a fresh fruit salad made daily, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing