We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable view”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinai House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unforgettable view”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was a lovely b and b set on a steep hill in the picturesque village of Lynton. The room was large, spotless, with a super comfortable bed and a spectacular view of the ocean. We were met with a warm welcome by Debbie, despite arriving earlier than planned and were promptly shown to our room and offered recommendations of places to eat, things to do and see in and around the village. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious with both hot and cold options presented in a beautifully laid out dining room. Great spot to return to after a day exploring Exmoor.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
171
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sinai House was a great place to stay. My wife and I wanted an evening away, somewhere quiet and found just what we were looking for in Lynton and at Sinai House. The hosts were quite friendly and helpful, we felt welcome from the outset. Our room was immaculately kept and extremely comfortable. The sea view from our window was simply amazing. Breakfast was delicious and substantial served in a delightful dining room. All creature comforts are met and the village has a few interesting sights and nice pubs and bistros. This place is well worth a visit if you are looking for a walking vacation or just a night away from the usual. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galenlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for a weekend in August and had a lovely weekend. The owners Debbie and Nigel were so nice, nothing was too much trouble and they were really knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We had a room at the top of the house with them most amazing view out over the bay and on to Wales! The rooms were spotlessly clean and a really good size. Breakfast was very tasty especially the sausages, and plenty of choice! We had a fantastic weekend and already looking forward to returning soon. Sharon and Jason.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DevonUKWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend staying at Sinai House. The accommodation was excellent: nice clean rooms with great views over the sea. The breakfasts were very substantial - fresh fruit salad, cereals, croissants and a great cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. Debbie and Nigel were very friendly hosts and, overall, it is somewhere that we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARVOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A wonderful place, great landscape, free wi-fi, well furnished and clean room with a great view, the owners really nice; it's what we hoped to find when we looked for a bed and breakfast in the Exmoor area.

Room Tip: the higher room has an incredible view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaskolnikovMosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent three nights at the Sinai House and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room was comfortable, clean and nicely presented with a fantastic view. Food was yummy and plentiful. Debbie and Nigel made us feel very welcome and we can't wait to make a return trip. Celia and Pete, Gloucester.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A lovely hotel up the hill overlooking the sea. The hosts Debbie and Nigel were great, willing to help with anything, and suggesting places to visit. The breakfast was delicious and big! The rooms were modern and clean with great views. Overall a perfect place to stay, and good value too. We will be back!

Room Tip: top floor rooms 7,8 and 9 i think......great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ingleside Hotel
Ingleside Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lynton
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Property: Sinai House
Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing