We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected great stay in Lynton”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sinai House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

After a strange Bed & Breakfast experience I was delighted to get such a warm welcome at the Sinai House in Lynton. Room and view were simply fantastic, breakfast was astonishing and we had excellent chats not only with hotel guests but also with the owners, Debbie & Nigel in the bed & breakfast living room part! Very recomendable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritaKunze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for writing your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We recently spent some time in Devon and by happy accident had the best weather of their poor summer. Devon sparkles in the sun! We rented a car and travelled around - which included several days in Lynton at Sinai House. What a gem! Debbie and Nigel run a super B&B - and will even make an evening meal if you prebook it - well worth while. Our room was delightful, large and spacious with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The help-your-self honesty bar and nearby lounge were fine. The friendly, helpful attention to every need was perfect -as was the breakfast.
You need confidence to tackle the steep hill up to the car park first time - but that's what Devon is all about!

Room Tip: If, like us, you use a SatNav, be sure to arrive from the east side of Lynton! Otherwise, you will e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for writing your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your break with us. The drive up is worth while!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Sinai House is a great place to stay, from the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home by Debbie and Nigel, Rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable with excellent sea views. Breakfasts are superb with a large choice of hot or cold options

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was a lovely b and b set on a steep hill in the picturesque village of Lynton. The room was large, spotless, with a super comfortable bed and a spectacular view of the ocean. We were met with a warm welcome by Debbie, despite arriving earlier than planned and were promptly shown to our room and offered recommendations of places to eat, things to do and see in and around the village. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious with both hot and cold options presented in a beautifully laid out dining room. Great spot to return to after a day exploring Exmoor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sinai House was a great place to stay. My wife and I wanted an evening away, somewhere quiet and found just what we were looking for in Lynton and at Sinai House. The hosts were quite friendly and helpful, we felt welcome from the outset. Our room was immaculately kept and extremely comfortable. The sea view from our window was simply amazing. Breakfast was delicious and substantial served in a delightful dining room. All creature comforts are met and the village has a few interesting sights and nice pubs and bistros. This place is well worth a visit if you are looking for a walking vacation or just a night away from the usual. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galenlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for a weekend in August and had a lovely weekend. The owners Debbie and Nigel were so nice, nothing was too much trouble and they were really knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We had a room at the top of the house with them most amazing view out over the bay and on to Wales! The rooms were spotlessly clean and a really good size. Breakfast was very tasty especially the sausages, and plenty of choice! We had a fantastic weekend and already looking forward to returning soon. Sharon and Jason.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DevonUKWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend staying at Sinai House. The accommodation was excellent: nice clean rooms with great views over the sea. The breakfasts were very substantial - fresh fruit salad, cereals, croissants and a great cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. Debbie and Nigel were very friendly hosts and, overall, it is somewhere that we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARVOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
17.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £80 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing