We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Devon”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sinai House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Devon”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I booked Sinai House as a last minute surprise for my girlfriend and what a surprise it was! Hidden up on a hill overlooking Lynton and Lynmouth Sinai House offers spectacular sea and country views, I had a look around and all rooms enjoy a similar view. The owners Debbie and Nigel are the nicest couple I have ever met and within minutes of arriving I felt like we had been friends for years, they both went out of their way to ensure that our every need was catered for from recommending and booking places to eat to leaving a bacon sandwich out for me when I left early in the morning nothing was too much. The rooms were pleasant and well decorated as were the public rooms and the bar was well stocked. I can't speak highly enough of Sinai House I will be returning and recommending it to anyone I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for writing your review, it was great to meet you both, you were really great fun. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying here & that your surprise went down well! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
161
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A lovely Victorian house in a stunning location. We stayed for 2 days in February and really enjoyed it. Our room was very comfortable and warm, at the top of the house with beautiful views. Debbie and Nigel were so welcoming and friendly. A real highlight for us was the meal in the evening, which was delicious. The lemon creme brulee was so good that Peter had to have seconds!
Debbie helped us plan walks and gave lots of suggestions for places to visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, it was lovely to meet you both you were great fun to have staying here with us. You now are the Sinai House Creme Brulee Champion, lets see who can beat you! Look forward to seeing you both again, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Debbie could not have been more helpful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and comfortable with a beautiful view. Breakfast was great with good choice and the hotel was well placed for getting about but nice and quiet at night. Rooms were on the chilly side but they are large and it was especially cold out - extra electric heaters are provided. The entrance to the car park was scary but once you have tried it - not as bad as it looks!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both, you were lovely company, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Big clean room with good views over the sea as advertised and Debbie very friendly and helpful, didn't see much of Nigel but again friendly when we did..However there was no getting away from how chilly both the bedroom and the public rooms were when we arrived. They did respond quickly to this with portable heaters which after a while did the trick nicely but I was rather left with the feeling that I was being rather a wimp to need them. I appreciate this is a large house and replacing the old storage heater system would be very expensive but may need doing if they continue taking winter bookings. A small criticism of an otherwise good breakfast was the little packs of jam etc, very common but none the less unpleasant for that and personally would have preferred some plain yoghurt not the little flavoured pots,plus what is the mini parsley garnish on the eggs - both twee and unecessary. Finally the entrance to the small road they are situated in was very narrow and uneven - my car bottomed out every time, nothing they can do about that I presume. This may all sound rather picky but for me makes the difference between a 4 and 5 star rating.

Room Tip: We had no 2 which had great views over the buildings out to sea but I understand all the bedrooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRosemary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for writing your review, Nigel & myself always appreciate the feed back & learn from them. We were sorry that you were still 'chilly' in the main areas, if you had mentioned it to one of us, we could have put more heatres in the rooms you were chilly in. As you say it is a large house with high ceilings. This is our second winter of staying open & no-one has mentioned that they were not warm enough. I did not wish to make you feel like a 'whimp', but if you remember our conversation, you said that you keep your bugalow very hot, to which I commented that while we were living abroad, on returning to the Uk we noticed how high people have their heating on! In Lynton we do not have the luxury of mains gas, so electric or oil are the only options. Which is why we have so many mobile oil filled radiators.
With regards to the jam pots, the reason we use these are for a couple of reasons, they are hygenic, no one else has been near them and they are enviormentally friendly, there is no waste & less for the landfill! The parsley is a requirement of Visit England, they require all their accommodation providers to garnish their food. Sorry that you say you 'bottomed' your car, Lynton is a hilly area. There is another car park which you could have used at the bottom of our garden. Again you did not mention this while you were here, as we could have advised you of this. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, am glad that you enjoyed the rest of Sinai House. Nigel & Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Fantastic B&B run by Debbie & Nigel - they really know how to make their guests feel welcome. We were there for one night last weekend (Feb 2013) and we Room 4 which had the most gorgeous views out over Lynton and the coast. The room was decorated in the style of the house and was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Deb&Nige were incredibly friendly and we had some really interesting chats with them during our 24hour visit! The lounge room and bar are both lovely, as is the dining room. Breakfast choices were numerous and delicious. I highly recommend a visit - we are already planning a return trip

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for writing your review. It was lovely to meet you both, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we stopped at Sinai house in Lynton over the new year break and could not have wished for a better stay. both Debbie and Nigel were amazing going as far as to find all the restaurants that were open over this period and emailing all the menus, Accomodation was warm and inviting
with a large breakfast of your choice, will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for writing your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a lovely New Year here in Lynton. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was my second visit to Sinai house. Debbie and Nigel were friendly as always and they could not do enough for myself and a walking colleague. My room was its usual high standard and they even dried my very soggy walking gear. We will be going back again in 2013

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the house have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was so wet when you were here, but you made the most of it. Hopefully when you return we will have some sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Property: Sinai House
Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing