We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinai House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It's pretty difficult, if not impossible, to find anything to fault here. I booked this hotel on the basis of the favourable TA reviews and we weren't disappointed. I've checked-in to lots of hotels over the years, but checking-in here was more like being welcomed to a friend's house
We had a really comfortable room with sea views (weather permitting!) and the breakfast was excellent.
What makes this place different is the attention to detail and the friendly atmosphere provided by the owners, Debbie and Nigel, which goes far beyond the synthetic and insincere "have a nice day" type customer service that you encounter in so many places these days.
The hotel is well located for walking excursions - turn left and you are on the path to Watersmeet, turn right and and are bound for Valley of Rocks and the spectacular coast path. We just left the car in the (free) hotel car park for the duration of our three night stay.
For eating, there is a wide choice of options in Lynton - a short walk away.
I would not hesitate to stay here again if we are ever in the area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for writing your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed staying with us Also pleased that you enjoyed Lynton and the beautiful area we live in. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
156
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here recently while walking the coastal path. Debbie and Nigel are very welcoming and friendly. Our bedroom was compact but very comfortable with great views over the bay, and good value for money. Nigel cooked us a lovely evening meal (you need to pre-book). Very generous portions and great value. Excellent breakfast. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for writing your review. It was lovely to meet you both. Nigel & I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal. Hope to see you again one day. Take care, Nigel and Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great views from our very comfortable room. Faultless service with a smile and a laugh from both Debbie and Nigel who made us feel very welcome. Wonderful breakfasts and our two evening meals were cooked and presented beautifully. We can highly recommend Sinai House and it is our intention to return in the not too distant future. Many thanks Mike and Sue

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Mike and Sue, so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your evening meals. It was lovely to meet you both. Thank you for choosing us. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care, Nigel and Debs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at Sinai for 3 nights very comfortable rooms and fab views.The hosts they were better than excellent The food to die for Liked it that much have booked to go back. Debbie and nigel your stars. Debbie how you remember everyones name beats me and your always smileing once again nigel and Debbie a very big thank you from both of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are both really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much here with us. We are looking forward to seeing you both again in a couple of weeks. Maggie your cup & saucer will be on the right!?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are Three gals from Leics who stayed at Sinai House for four nights and we had a brilliant time. What a beautiful place - fabulous views, super comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfasts and last, but not least you Debbie! What a star you are. A mine of information about the area, restaurants, short cuts, directions. And all this with the brightest smile and sense of fun. Thank you Debbie - we loved it all and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi ladies, thank you so much for writing your review. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed your company in the house. You were great fun. Hope that you next break away together is great too. Hope to see you all again soon, take care Nigel & Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and we couldn't have a better start to our trip. Great location and even better hosts, couldn't be more accommodating. The food was great and you must try the scrambled eggs...naughty, but very nice!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey40a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed your company too. Hopefully one day you will be able to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just had a 3 night stay at Sinai House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was plentiful and kept you going until the afternoon Devon cream tea! Lots to do around the area. We did a Safari with Richard who owns Discovery Safaris of Porlock. We can highly recommend him. As too the Geenhouse for a great meal. Debbie and Nigel are very hard working and friendly owners of this B & B and if we lived nearer would be booking our Christmas break with them!

Thank you Debbie & Nigel from Sue & Nigel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkland_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing your review, your words are lovely and mean a lot to us. We are really pleased that you all had a lovely break with us. You certainly packed a lot in while you were here! Take care, and it would be lovely to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Property: Sinai House
Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing