We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sinai House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided on seven nights in Devon and Cornwall with day hikes and other adventures. The first three were spent on the edge of Exmoor National Park at Sinai house. Setting is beautiful. We had a splendid view past the English flag and over part of Lynton to the cliffs and water beyond. Beds and furnishings were excellent, room was a nice size. We were on the top floor. Breakfast was full English and more...basically anything you wanted...served in a very nice breakfast room.

Nigel and Debbie were outstanding hosts. We arrived a little after 8 the first night. We had called ahead and Debbie offered to make dinner reservations so we would be sure and find something good. Lily May's Teashop and Restaurant was a perfect choice. On both days we took Debbie's suggestions for walks. They could not have been better...with a tearoom in the middle of each walk, set in each instance in an idyllic place...we stopped for lunch at both. I'm sure you could easily spend a week there and Debbie would come up with a splendid day, each day.

Sinai House has a trove of maps, books, memorabilia in the nice sitting room on the first floor, adjacent to the full bar that has a range of drinks made available on the honor system if Debbie and Nigel happen not to be immediately present.

Sinai House also has a nice place to sit outside with the view to the cliffs and the sea. It doesn't get much better than, after a vigorous day's walk to relax with a beautiful view with a draft or glass of wine, glancing at the book in your hand as you look down from time to time from the surrounding scenery.

Room Tip: The top floor room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was great to meet you. We are really pleased that you enjoyed staying at Sinai House. Lynton is such a beautiful place it's great to be able to share it with people who appreciate it! Take care, all the best Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. It is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. It is situated on a steep hill overlooking part of the town and the sea beyond. There is parking for a few cars outside and a large car park nearby which is free for overnight parking.
Debbie and Nigel were very welcoming, friendly and informative. Our room and en-suite were spotless, bed comfortable, plenty of space and with a lovely view. Breakfasts plentiful and tasty. There is a good sized guest lounge with access to a balcony, and an honesty bar opposite the lounge.
We will definitely return and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infojingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for writing your review, we are really pleased that you had a lovely break and enjoyed Sinai House and Lynton. It was lovely to meet you, we enjoyed your company. Hope to see you again soon. Take care, all the best Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Such a lovely place to stay, everything you could possibly need in a B&B.
Debbie and Nigel were extremely welcoming and gave us all the local tips, they really have everything covered. Would come again, and for more than one night next time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angus a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we enjoyed your company a lot, like you say 1 night isn't enough! We look forward to seeing you again, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night in Sinai House in June. Place is beautiful; nicely decorated rooms, lovely views towards sea. Owner is really nice, helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was great and it was lovely to have morning coffee with sea views.
Parking might be bit difficult; if you want to park in Sinai House parking place, you need to drive couple of tight curves uphill. Other option is to park at public parking lot which is near Sinai House and it is free from 6 pm until 10 am.
Sinai House was really lovely experience, two things could still be better: Wi-fi signal was weak in our room and shower had no water pressure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The free wi fi works brilliantly in the public areas. It is slow in some of the rooms, but as I explain on arrival, the walls are 3 foot thick for some of the bedrooms, so no matter what we do wi fi isn't going to get through, our home was built in 1850! Sorry about your shower, I have no idea why you had low pressure as our home normally has strong water pressure?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My second visit to Sinai House, just a one night stay on business. I was made so welcome, the "Deluxe Single" was essentially a small double which was perfect for me as I hate sleeping in a single bed. I just love the concept of the honesty bar, so nice to be treated as a decent person, and the breakfast is excellent, set me up for the day till my evening meal. I will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: If travelling alone, definitely have the deluxe single, If travelling as a couple try to get a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roryspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Rory, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was great to see you again, you always liven up the dining room! Hope to see you in the summer! Take care all the best Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great place - friendly owners, wonderful location with sea views. Excellent breakfast cooked to order with usual cold stuff too inc diet yogs if required! They have off road parking and the location is very quiet. Small double entry suite perfect for solo, OK for 2 for max 2 nights I'd think. Room & ensuite very clean & well decorated. Debbie & Nigel do a great job! Definitely will return when in area again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is small double, great for 1 with hill & sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Susan, thank you so much for your review and lovely comments, it was lovely to meet you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our home. Hope to see you again soon! Take care, all the best Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at Sinai House for a weekend break. Room was very good, lovely view and well equipped. Apart from dust on the radio alarm, overall cleanliness was excellent. Hosts couldn't have been nicer and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and was so generous that I couldn't manage it all (unusual for me) . Parking is a bit of an issue as the access road is narrow and turning around is a bit of a nightmare! However the public car park at the bottom of the garden is free overnight to 10 o'clock so anyone with a large car would be better off parking there. I can thoroughly recommend Sinai House and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: we had room 9. Lovely views recommended so long as you can manage a few flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apnitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that we see you again one day, take care, all the best Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £80 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing