We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly B & B”

The Moorings Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moorings Guest House
Ranked #29 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Having stayed at The Moorings many years ago, we decided to stay again as we had had a good time then! The B & B was excellent, recently updated and repainted and the room was immaculate, with a decent bathroom, not a pokey small cupboard as other places we've visited! The complimentary tea and coffee was supplemented with packets of biscuits, a lovely touch when you are longing for a cup of tea after walking around the Barbican!There was an extensive breakfast menu and Sam was only too pleased to cook things to your liking. We thoroughly recommend The Moorings and will be stopping there again soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 is peaceful and has a good en-suite. You can clearly see the Brittany Ferries when docked as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    13
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
30
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed here for a five nights to explore Cornwall. Because my girlfriend and I were already travelling through England for 3 weeks, we were a bit tired and didn't see much of Cornwall. But are room, although relatively inexpensive , was quite large, so we could rest a bit overhere. The owners were nice too and they could cook a great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights in september and were very pleased with everything. The room we had was spotless as was the rest of the guest house. We had on suite bathroom with hot shower, t.v and sea view. The bed was very comfy and breakfast was lovely with cereals, fruit and juices to choose from as well as full english or choice of eggs, kipppers etc. It was served by very friendly hosts. We will definately stay here again , it was also one of the cheapest. Good location within walking distance to The Hoe, Drakes Circus , The Barbican and the university. You can buy parking ticket from the owners for 2.50 per day (it is free between 4pm and 10a.m) instead of paying 8.00 per day from the meters.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vining9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our eldest son for the weekend and were not disappointed.
We had a double room and our son had a single, both with en-suite facilities.
Rooms are very clean and made to feel homely, with enough room to store belongings etc. Makes a nice to change to have plenty of hangars!
Breakfast was excellent.
Great location. Minutes walk to sea front. Short walk or drive to the city centre. Easy access to main routes in and out of city.
Don't let the pay and display parking in the area put you off as you can buy an all day ticket from the landlord for £2 if necessary plus parking is free before 10am and after 4pm.
We never had a problem parking nearby.
Will definitely return to this splendid guest house.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and although we could hear people coming and going, it was very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights for a family wedding, this place is spotless clean, wonderful breakfast and wonderful hosts. We will stay here again when we next visit Plymouth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karencavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavelossim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at this guest house over a weekend whilst visiting my family. I initially chose it because of the fantastic price and didn't really have any high expectations.
The rooms and facilities are immaculate but without having a clinical feel, The vendors have found the right balance in combining a good homely feel to their dwelling without neglect to the cleanliness side, the bathroom facilities were shared which didn't cause me any problems and the breakfast were marvelous. I was a single traveller and felt very safe and at home here. There was an elderly gentleman i met at breakfast who had been coming every year for 15 years.
Well done to Sam and Franco, they obviously work hard and in my opinion deserve my positive review, they have a wonderful facility, close to all the best Plymouth tourist sites and i feel they should be very proud. Thank you for my lovely stay, i shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracehiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The guest house was lovely, the room was perfect, very clean and enough room for the 3 of us sharing it. The breakfast was divine, all cooked freshly to order. The owners were very friendly and helpful and realxed. Would definately recommend this guest house to anyone we know that is goin to stay in the area. If we down that way we will definately be using The Moorings again. Thanks to Sam and Franca for a wonderful 2 nights.

Room Tip: We had a double and a single for our 15 yr old son and the room was adequate for us with en-suite to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 78 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#12 of 78 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#36 of 78 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gallery Guesthouse
Gallery Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Firs Guest House
Firs Guest House
#40 of 78 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Guest House

Property: The Moorings Guest House
Address: 4 Garden Crescent | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing