We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award Winning Fish & Chips”

Kingfisher Fish & Chips
Ranked #214 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: British
Description: If we had made you happy please leave us a review. If you are unhappy, we are sorry, please give us the opportunity to make amends before leaving negative feedback. Please contact us
Restaurant details
Description: If we had made you happy please leave us a review. If you are unhappy, we are sorry, please give us the opportunity to make amends before leaving negative feedback. Please contact us
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Award Winning Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Popped into Award Winning Chip Shop to see if it was true & it was the BEST chips I have ever tasted in my life. The bloke who served us knew a lot about his potatoes and said that the quality comes from 'double frying'? Take a trip if you are near, it is worth the journey

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viscountbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Owner at Kingfisher Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi viscountbailey,
Thank you for your very kind commetns, we do try very hard to make every persons visit special. and we are very pleased you enjoyed our chips

Looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    22
    19
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Everything tasted great. The service was fantastic and the staff were really helpful. I will definately be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loren331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Owner at Kingfisher Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Loren331,
Firstly i would like to thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor.

It is our aim to make everyone's visit enjoyable. Whether you choose our award winning fish and chips, or another tasty meal, everything is cooked fresh

Kingfisher highly value our customers and we really do try very very hard to make sure you love the food and the experience.
Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review

We look forward to seeing you very soon
Best fishes
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We love this take away restaurant. Their fish also tasted lovely and the scampi (about 12) was value for money. Even the children fish and chip was fresh fish (not flat cupboard size).
All staff were polite and professional.

It was our local and favour fish and chip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WarmlyAndCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Owner at Kingfisher Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi WalmsAndCo,
Firstly i would like to thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor.
Kingfisher highly value our customers and we try to make sure you love the food and the service.

Once again thank you very much, we look forward to seeing you again

Best fishes
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still well worth the drive”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Again another superb meal from Kingfisher and well worth the drive from Peterborough!
Such a shame the locals have such different views. I personally have always had first class service and first class food.
Some folks need to learn to communicate- ask the staff exactly how you want your fish cooked and they will oblige, it's simple!
I must also recommend the homemade tartare sauce. Craig you must start to sell this by the jar.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Owner at Kingfisher Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Andrew F,

Firstly i would like to thank you for leaving us a nice comment on tripadvisor.
I am so pleased we are worth the journey. I am glade you hit on the point about communication, as we do try very very hard serve delicious food and provide great service. We do also have many customers who know the way they want their food cooked and we are more than willing to accommodate individual preferences to the people who ask. We have introduced a Fish Cooked Your Way, where you can have your fish with or without skin as you do, poached in lemon juice, grilled, breaded or even gluten free on a Monday.
With regard to our NEW Homemade Tartare sauce we love it, so we are really pleased you do too.
Looking forward to seeing you very soon
Best Fishes
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Yumaroo”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff, busy Friday night and still everyone getting their orders in good time. I like how well presented it all is in there. Delicious chips and I like the haddock with the skin on so that suited me . Did the job and now our new preferred chippy in Plymouth!

Helpful?
1 Thank jeaniebombeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Owner at Kingfisher Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Jeaniebombeanie,

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review on tripadvisor. We do try very hard to provide each and every one of our customers with delicious food and great experience.
Once again many thanks
Best fishes
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Kingfisher Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing