We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Gallery Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gallery Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Diekholzen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Gallery Guesthouse with my sister for a couple of days. We had a wonderful room, a perfectly clean bathroom and clean sheets after 2 days!!Our hosts were very nice, searching the internet for informations about sights nearby. We enjoyed our stay very much!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
65
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here last December as the location was perfect for the university. Booked originally for one night but ended up staying for two. Fantastic friendly, helpful owners. Highly recommended.Claire & Samantha.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1970b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked two rooms at the Plymouth Gallery Guesthouse and were impressed with the following:-
(a) Rooms, towels, sheets, bathroom, toilet, etc were very clean and spotless. Very important to us.
(b) Great hot breakfast with a variety of choices, cooked to your requirement. Good to start the day well.
(c) Free roadside parking after office hours - so good for travelers like us. No extra parking costs.
(d) Chris had plenty of time for us, providing us with road maps, driving conditions, what to do and what to see, etc. Appreciate that she took the time to explain to us. Saves you plenty of reading time.
(e) Location - walk to the city center if you wish.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gohgohmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The B&B is fantastic value for money and well situated – It’s perfect if you’re visiting Plymouth University (a 2 min walk). It’s also close to the train station (5 min walk) and city centre (10 min walk). The hosts could not be more accommodating and welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious. I paid £30 for a single room which is amazing value for money – the room was larger than most single rooms I have stayed in and the cheapest too! The room was spotlessly clean, well decorated and maintained with decent free Wi-Fi and comfy bed; it also has a very well stocked tea and coffee tray with the addition of hot choc, Horlicks and tasty biscuits.

I would happily stay here again. I highly recommend this B&B due to the comfy, clean rooms, brilliant hosts and delicious breakfasts and all at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wonderful welcome from our hosts, started even before we arrived wishing us a safe journey down. A Good hearty breakfast awaited us both each morning. Very friendly hosts could not do enough for us, and even allowed us to use their allocated parking after we had checked out. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiec_hatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

great guesthouse
very clean with great food,very helpful people , i am back in Plymouth in two weeks and will be staying again. short walk to town center, i had a double on-suite room with the best bed i have had in a guest house ,tea/ coffee in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I recently stayed here for the weekend on a visit to Plymouth.

I arrived at about 7pm and was warmly welcomed with a detailed review of the area, with taxi number, mobile number and Wifi codes provided. I also was kindly leant an ice bucket and ice for the fizzy I had brought, at no trouble at all.

The room was well furnished, clean and a good size, with a nice ensuite in the corner, more than adequate. Having been given keys to the front door, this allowed full flexibility for the weekend.

The location was great, being about 10 mins walk from the train station and less than 15 minutes to the Barbican area and all the bars and restaurants.

The bed and bedding was so comfortable and we got a great nights sleep, due to it being quiet.

We did not have the breakfast, but I can say it smealt amazing from the room!

I would definately recommend this to anyone wishing to visit the Plymouth area. Amazing value for money and one of the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,340 reviews
4.0 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
2.6 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Guesthouse

Property: Gallery Guesthouse
Address: 66 North Road East, Plymouth PL4 6AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gallery Guesthouse is a stone built, 8 bedroom Victorian townhouse of considerable character and architectural interest from when it was built in 1887 and uniquely incorporating an Art Gallery throughout the House.Ideally situated opposite the University of Plymouth the Guesthouse is perfectly placed for bars, restaurants and excellent transport links of the City Centre, Mutley Plain and North Hill. The railway station is a 5 minute walk or a very short taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gallery Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing