We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B at Eastern Lodge
Ranked #45 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An incredible stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We just returned from a stay at Eastern Lodge and felt we needed to share our experience. The B&B itself was beautiful, immaculately clean and one-of-a-kind....but along with this, Salka was a top-notch host. From the minute I resumed conversations with her to book, to the moment we left, Salka was attentive, helpful and warm. She cooked us amazing breakfasts, and made us feel so welcome in the house.But Salka was so much more than a B&B host: she gave us very clear and incredible itineraries for each of our days in the area, which we followed right down to the last detail and which made the trip one of the best we've had in years. We cannot recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family and I just returned from a trip to Devon, and stayed in Eastern Lodge for 4 nights and 5 days. We had a most wonderful time there. Here's why:
1. Our proprietress Salka, loves Devon, and is passionate about sharing all the things she loves about the place with her guests. She took us to places off the beaten tourist track, like Dartmouth, hidden coastal paths, a tea place with the best carrot cake I have ever eaten, a beach where you could collect beautiful pebbles (all different) as souvenirs, the Plymouth gin factory and a local market place.
2. Eastern Lodge itself. This was a holiday retreat for Lord Barring and dated to the 1880s. It is like staying at the Raffles in Singapore but cheaper. The charming building with its bent chimneys looks like something out of a fairy tale. All the rooms are different and luxuriously appointed and we had fun staying in the different rooms throughout our stay as we had the run of the house during our stay.
3. The beautiful surroundings. We did 3 glorious coastal walks, one a mere five minutes walk away. On a clear blue day the walks are indeed, in Salka's own words, 10 over 10.
4. There is so much nature in the area, including pheasants in the garden and Barney the buzzard. At night, you can see the milky way in the backyard.
5. The food! My nephew said the dinner we were served at Salka was on a par with Koffman in London (we ate there recently) and I agree. My mum has an Asian palate and we were touched that Salka took the trouble to do a chow mein for her.

All in all, a wonderful find for those looking for a well-rounded relaxing holiday with a hostess who knows and loves western county and is super-keen to ensure that her guests have a memorable time.

Room Tip: The Baring room is the most beautiful but can be cold on a rainy night. my favourite room is the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuanhuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the moment of arrival, Salka made is feel very welcome. The accommodation was spotless, beautifully furnished room, breakfasts fantastic and a very comfortable bed. We had the run of the place, being out of season and the guests' lounge was cosy with an open fire, Interesting historical building, amazing walks and scenery to get away from it all. We will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone without reservation. Thank you Salka :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was treated to a surprise night away for a 'big' birthday and was most definitely not disappointed. Gorgeous property decorated lovingly, located in the most perfect countryside location next to the coast. Quite and beautiful. Plenty of options for cycling and walking or just soaking up the silence and scenery. Salka provides the warmest of welcomes you could ever wish for and is more than happy to assist and accommodate you in anyway she can to make your stay even better. Maps of the local area are on hand or if you just fancy doing very little the cosy lounge is the perfect place to relax. I can't wait to go back again and hope it becomes at least an annual treat!

Room Tip: We had the Baring Room and it was fantastic but had a quirky little toilet that may hinder anyone ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauvais, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Over the last six months Eastern Lodge has been our Devon haven on three occasions. The setting in unspoilt coastal countryside is perfect for invigorating hikes. But more importantly Salka's friendly hospitality makes our time there precious. She has adapted extremely well to our dietary needs and always makes time for interesting chats. We'll keep coming back for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anglo_FrenchQuartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Eastern Lodge for two nights recently to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Devon which was largely due to Eastern Lodge.
Salka; the proprietor was such a warm and relaxed host from the minute we arrived, making us a hot cup of tea which was just what was needed. It was interesting to hear some history about the house which was indeed full of character and charm.
We felt at ease and relaxed from the moment we arrived. Our room was extremely comfortable, the huge bed provided a great nights sleep. The bathroom was quirky; having an art deco feel with a large bath and powerful shower.
Salka was so hospitable, she discussed things we may like to do in the area and suggested a lovely coastal walk that we could enjoy on our last morning. She even dropped us off and picked us up at the local gastro pub on the Friday night. Salka also made us the most gorgeous full English breakfast on our last morning which we enjoyed whilst soaking up the beautiful view of the garden. If you are looking for a relaxing and homely B&B full of charm with lovely views then you should head for a stay with Salka.
We will definitely be back to Eastern Lodge again, hopefully the weather will be better next time and we will be able to fully enjoy the sea views from the room!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We just wanted to say a BIG thank you for making our stay at your beautiful B&B so special again.
Our friends just loved it and were so surprised we had found such a gem.
They all had a really lovely time and wanted to thankyou for your hospitality and making them so welcome.
All those exta touches make all the difference . Wonderfull - just LOVELY !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
8.6 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Ivy Barn Bed & Breakfast
7.0 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 78 in Plymouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B at Eastern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B at Eastern Lodge

Property: B&B at Eastern Lodge
Address: Membland nr. Newton Ferrers, Plymouth PL8 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Lodge, the B&B with the wonky chimney, was built as a gatehouse in 1883 by Edward Baring, the acclaimed banker. Set in beautiful surroundings, it overlooks the sea and Dartmoor, yet Plymouth is only 10 miles away. Walk up and down the coastal path, find beautiful little coves of tranquility before settling down to a luxurious cream tea in the legendry teashop of Newton Ferrers or have a gorgeous dinner at the Ship Inn in Noss Mayo, known to the locals as Happy Valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing