We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts That Really Care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstones Country Hotel
Ranked #32 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The overriding factor for giving 5 out 5 for Millstones was the care of the staff who went out of their way to help and accommodate our needs, and make us feel almost as though we were staying with old friends. We had to travel for a funeral and were only staying the one night. The problem was that the funeral was in the afternoon, so we not only needed somewhere to leave our bags, but also to change for the funeral. Additionally, I have a long-term illness and needed to rest over lunchtime. No sooner had we told them, than they offered us the use of a spare room for the duration of the afternoon. In the end, they told us we could continue to use our own room for as long as we wanted.
The evening dinner was really good, with a wide variety of choices, and the instant one of our party asked about vegetarian, they instantly came back with another set of options. By the way, they also made the food for the funeral reception and were extremely flexible when we couldn't supply exact numbers. To top it off, when we left, without asking, they wrapped up left over sandwiches and gave them to us for our journey.
The hotel has an old-fashioned country-house charm. There are a couple of lounges and a small bar (they only very small criticism here, is that it would have been nice if there was a single malt whisky availabe - but I'm just being ultra picky.) Our room was at the front, not far from the busy Plymouth to Tavistock road. Bearing in mind that we live on a very quite road at home, and I am a light, easily disturbed sleeper, the double-glazing at Millstones was so good that there was virtually no noise. In any case, the road seemed to be completely quiet after about 10pm and we didn't notice the road at night at all.
We would DEFINITELY come back, if only just to see the friendly staff again!
If you want to feel like a clone and stay in a modern dormitory block, I believe the Travelodge is just down the road. If, on the other hand, you want to make some new friends, be treated like a visiting friend and given good, home cooked food, in homely surroundings, I suggest you come here instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandsross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well, where do I start - the photographs that are used to advertise this hotel must be from when it first opened, many moons ago.
On entry this is what I was expecting - but to my horror, it looked like a run down hotel. There is now no grass at the front and just a car park, the whole exterior needs revamping, and even better the garden at the back looked like a small forest with green mouldy chairs.

The room we had was very small and mould was on the windowpane and damp. The bed was a small double bed and very uncomfortable, and the 'en suite ' ( didn't deserve than title ) was a cubicle with an old shower curtain and very dated.

Breakfast.. greasy, teapot filthy with tea stains and just not nice. I really don't know the other reviewers on her stayed..
It was that depressing we checked out early and stayed at the Days Inn - much much much better and cheaper..

Room Tip: Stay clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having stayed in Millstones before we knew what to expect and this time was no different than any other which was PERFECT. the room was cosy and the free WIFI is also an added extra. The food was excellent we explained to the staff that we were vegan and they cooked us a meal far better than any other hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mrs Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just finished a 2 night stay at this charming establishment. If you are looking for the big chain hotel experience, this is not for you. If you are looking for a small, welcoming inn with loads of character, welcome here.

From our welcome at the front door, to a hot breakfast on our way out the door, I have seldom encountered such warmth from every staff member in a hotel. The "tired" look that others have mentioned in past reviews is not tired at all. This is the charm of a family run business. The lounges are comfortably furnished and the conservatory (where breakfast was served) overlooks a beautiful blooming garden.

My room was comfortable with excellent pillows (usually my biggest complaints in a hotel). The bath was a great size with loads of hot water!

You can preorder your breakfast the evening before with a wide selection of hot and cold selections.

As mentioned in a previous review, the inn is located on a major road with plenty of off road parking available. Road noise was certainly not an issue during my stay.

I would certainly not hesitate to recommend this location to friends and families looking for a smaller friendlier alternative to the large international chains.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WindsorTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We returned to Millstones again, we have been staying there for around 4 years and rooms are always spotless and cosy. We were greeted with smiles and a warm reception, all staff very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked, not greasy, served in sunny conservatory overlooking lovely garden. We have family nearby and we will be returning again for sure. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely people and really great home cooked food, but otherwise the place is a bit tired. Some refurbishments have made a positive difference, but the tatty bits are still evident. The new double glazing does have an excellent effect on cutting out noise, but not should be noted it's on a busy main road. Not very "country".

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,095 reviews
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstones Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstones Country Hotel

Address: 436-438 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Millstones Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Millstones Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing