We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean but in need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstones Country Hotel
Ranked #34 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very clean but in need of renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I honestly cannot fault the helpfulness of staff and the quality of service and the wide availability of breakfast on offer.

The room was very clean and had everything I needed including tea and coffee making facilities, desk area, wifi and tissues which are often a rarity.

The decor and bathroom was very dated though and the window frames were so rotten I only dared open one of them when I wanted some fresh air.

I did sleep well and the bed was comfy and smelt clean and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mand789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
37
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having booked this accommodation through an International airline and shown photos of what to expect, how shocked we were, from the time we entered the shabby driveway to the dingy entry and so called reception.Taking the creaky stairs and worn carpets to our 1940's style room,immediately closing windows due to loud traffic noise and upon first use of the toilet it was unable to be flushed. Cheap fittings and shoddy paintwork topped the general appearance of this expensive country hotel !!. The breakfast was very basic and found that a castor sugar shaker had been placed next to a salt shaker on every table (is this a new English taste trait ? Get in the Hotel Inspector ASAP to stop overseas visitors being ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The overriding factor for giving 5 out 5 for Millstones was the care of the staff who went out of their way to help and accommodate our needs, and make us feel almost as though we were staying with old friends. We had to travel for a funeral and were only staying the one night. The problem was that the funeral was in the afternoon, so we not only needed somewhere to leave our bags, but also to change for the funeral. Additionally, I have a long-term illness and needed to rest over lunchtime. No sooner had we told them, than they offered us the use of a spare room for the duration of the afternoon. In the end, they told us we could continue to use our own room for as long as we wanted.
The evening dinner was really good, with a wide variety of choices, and the instant one of our party asked about vegetarian, they instantly came back with another set of options. By the way, they also made the food for the funeral reception and were extremely flexible when we couldn't supply exact numbers. To top it off, when we left, without asking, they wrapped up left over sandwiches and gave them to us for our journey.
The hotel has an old-fashioned country-house charm. There are a couple of lounges and a small bar (they only very small criticism here, is that it would have been nice if there was a single malt whisky availabe - but I'm just being ultra picky.) Our room was at the front, not far from the busy Plymouth to Tavistock road. Bearing in mind that we live on a very quite road at home, and I am a light, easily disturbed sleeper, the double-glazing at Millstones was so good that there was virtually no noise. In any case, the road seemed to be completely quiet after about 10pm and we didn't notice the road at night at all.
We would DEFINITELY come back, if only just to see the friendly staff again!
If you want to feel like a clone and stay in a modern dormitory block, I believe the Travelodge is just down the road. If, on the other hand, you want to make some new friends, be treated like a visiting friend and given good, home cooked food, in homely surroundings, I suggest you come here instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandsross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well, where do I start - the photographs that are used to advertise this hotel must be from when it first opened, many moons ago.
On entry this is what I was expecting - but to my horror, it looked like a run down hotel. There is now no grass at the front and just a car park, the whole exterior needs revamping, and even better the garden at the back looked like a small forest with green mouldy chairs.

The room we had was very small and mould was on the windowpane and damp. The bed was a small double bed and very uncomfortable, and the 'en suite ' ( didn't deserve than title ) was a cubicle with an old shower curtain and very dated.

Breakfast.. greasy, teapot filthy with tea stains and just not nice. I really don't know the other reviewers on her stayed..
It was that depressing we checked out early and stayed at the Days Inn - much much much better and cheaper..

Room Tip: Stay clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having stayed in Millstones before we knew what to expect and this time was no different than any other which was PERFECT. the room was cosy and the free WIFI is also an added extra. The food was excellent we explained to the staff that we were vegan and they cooked us a meal far better than any other hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just finished a 2 night stay at this charming establishment. If you are looking for the big chain hotel experience, this is not for you. If you are looking for a small, welcoming inn with loads of character, welcome here.

From our welcome at the front door, to a hot breakfast on our way out the door, I have seldom encountered such warmth from every staff member in a hotel. The "tired" look that others have mentioned in past reviews is not tired at all. This is the charm of a family run business. The lounges are comfortably furnished and the conservatory (where breakfast was served) overlooks a beautiful blooming garden.

My room was comfortable with excellent pillows (usually my biggest complaints in a hotel). The bath was a great size with loads of hot water!

You can preorder your breakfast the evening before with a wide selection of hot and cold selections.

As mentioned in a previous review, the inn is located on a major road with plenty of off road parking available. Road noise was certainly not an issue during my stay.

I would certainly not hesitate to recommend this location to friends and families looking for a smaller friendlier alternative to the large international chains.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindsorTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth East Hotel
3.2 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstones Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstones Country Hotel

Property: Millstones Country Hotel
Address: 436-438 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Millstones Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millstones Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing