We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydney Guest House

Sydney Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sydney Guest House
Ranked #71 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Crawley, Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic but clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The welcome was very good and we were able to park outside the property. Even on the one occasion there wasn't a space there, we were able to park a very short walk away. The property is well located, with a short (10-15 min) walk taking you into the city centre and The Ho! where we had heard we would get the best view of the Fireworks Displays Championships which was the reason we travelled to Plymouth in the first place. (Would definitely recommend timing your visit to coincide with this as it was fantastic!)

We were travelling as a family with two teenage daughters and booked their family room for two nights. It was a good size with a double bed and two single beds. It had a couple of chests of drawers and a small corner shower room.

There was a slight smell of damp, especially in the shower room, which is perhaps inevitable in this type of room. We found that items which had been left on the floor overnight felt cold and possibly slightly damp when we picked them up in the morning. Our room was on the ground floor, so perhaps rooms upstairs would have been better from that perspective.

Breakfast was simple, but as expected. When we booked, and looking at other reviews, we saw that the only cooked food would be eggs and toast. We could choose from croissants, cereal and limited fruit as well. The food we did go for was tasty and the eggs were well cooked.

Overall, not a bad place for a night or two as long as you don't expect too much. As I said in my heading, it is basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-mailAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    5
    7
    17
See reviews for
11
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I spent two nights here as I was travelling to Plymouth to attend a graduation ceremony organised by the local uni. Most hotels I got in touch with had no vacancies at the time of booking, thus I ended up in this guest house (laying in an area in which I used to live and I know it's quiet and safe). Reading the previous reviews found on TripAdvisor I was a bit worried of what I could have found. It turned out to be a pleasant experience instead.

Surely the building looks a bit aged, the rooms are essential and the decorations seem old rather than vintage. At the same time the owners were friendly and professional with us and they did their best to make sure we were delivered the services we paid for. Wi-Fi was working fine with me (not a very strong signal on the second floor, but still enough to surf the web at a decent speed). The rooms and the shared facilities (bathroom, shower room, etc.) were very clean. (Continental) breakfast was not bad too.

Prices are surely higher than one would expect (pretty much similar to those one could find at a standard hotel), but as I said in the title of this review, Sydney Guest House is surely a viable option when struggling to find an accommodation in Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We stated at the Sydney guest house this weekend, it was a nice stay we was left alone except when we asked for information which was readily available. Breakfast was ok scrambled egg in toast tea was all in the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iggsy7967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Myself and my friends recently stayed at the Sydney Guest House and were bitterly disappointed with our experience. The property certainly had 'character' but was greatly outdated and in desperate need of modernising. Our room was inadequately laid out (no view of TV from single bed), had a broken window which wasn't allowed to be open, uncomfortable mattresses and disgusting tea/coffee provisions. There was no en suite and as such we had to shower in a communal WC fit only for a small child. In the morning, breakfast was served in the owners lounge with their daughter present unnervingly staring at us throughout our meal. As for breakfast itself, only a continental option was available! This consisted of stale croissants, a limited selections of fruit and cereal and only egg on toast as a hot option. The overall experience was so poor in fact, it became laughable!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank k3mp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

On arrival greeted by the hosts who were friendly and informative. They then , on a freezing cold day switched on the heating which when it warmed up brought out the musty smell which permeated through every thing in the room . T.V , Wi-Fi and bed not adequate for the price charged , paid for two nights but left after one . Parking in the area is certainly inadequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Friendly welcome. Clean room, decoration a little dated. Tiny TV up in the corner of the room.
Wi-Fi advertised available in all rooms but that simply isn't the case, could only get a weak signal by one window.
The bed is simply terrible, lumpy and can feel the springs digging in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staysinhotelsfreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#12 of 78 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#6 of 78 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Guest House

Property: Sydney Guest House
Address: 181 North Road West, Plymouth PL1 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sydney Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sydney Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing