We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Traine Farm Holiday Cottages
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Not only was the accommodation spot on even though we were in one of the smaller cottages for 4 of us, the owners were really pleasant people. My daughter was taken on an egg hunt with the farmer, my son was taken on a pony trek, the farmers wife helped me fix my kayak, she made us some wonderful creme teas, nice. The opportunites on wet days or dry days in the immediate courtyard area are plentiful for everyone and the general area is brilliant with good surf on windy days and rock pooling whenever, it's the best and safest beach in the area. Plymouth and the Aquarium are not too far away, but this place feels in the middle of the country, an excellent pub with good service "the old wheel" just down the road within walking distance, plenty of walks close by. We had a great time here, thanks. Darren.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had an enjoyable week at Traine Farm in mid July. Our cottage, Cory, was comfortable, clean and well-equipped. We had a warm welcome with fresh scones, jam and cream provided by our hosts. There is a small outdoor play area with a good-sized trampoline, which was a hit with our daughter. A pleasant touch was a pony ride which our hosts provided for the children one morning, followed by egg-collecting from the free range hens. Wembury Beach, about 1 mile away, is a family-friendly beach suitable for swimming and readily accessible from the farm via a short drive or on foot through the village or across the fields. Complimentary wifi provided to our cottage ensured we were able to keep track of the weather and effectively plan each day’s activities. There are several pubs in nearby villages, which serve good food. Overall, a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just been back to Cory Cottage for a second time and had a wonderful time on both occasions. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. Sheila and Robert were great, we loved being on the farm with ducks, chickens and cockerels wandering around. Our children were allowed to help collect the eggs and went on a pony ride. We were shown some piglets and calves... our children loved it! Wembury beach is just 1 mile away with rock pools and a sandy beach, as well as a cafe. We would certainly recommend this place to our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We recently stayed at these cottages and sadly could not wait to leave, we found the accommodation incredibly dirty and there were flies everywhere!!! I went to use some pans in the kitchen and they were covered in pasta and tomato sauce it was vile and there was such a stench in the living/dining area i could not face eating in there anyway!. Wembury however is a lovely place and i would definitely recommend eating at The odd wheel in the food in gorgeous!. Have booked to go back to Wembury next year but not staying in this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This was our third visit to Traine Farm cottages. Each time we stayed in Clowberry as our daughter is a full time wheelchair user.
The accomodation is extremely comfortable and consists of an open plan kitchen,dinning room and sitting room. There is a wet room with a walk in shower, bath, toilet and hand basin. In the downstairs bedroom the owners place blocks under the double bed so that we could use our own portable hoist, upstairs there are four single beds. There is also parking for a large vehicle adjacent to Clowberry.
Traine Farm is set in lovely countryside, there are plenty of beaches to choose from and Dartmoor, The Hoe and Plymouth City Centre are within easy reach. A good selection of local shops are close by at The Broadway in Plymstock. We will be staying again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank franckiecouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My partner and I stayed at Traine Farm recently. We stayed in 'Rede' the two person cottage. The accommodation was very clean and well presented, which immediately made us feel at home. From Rede you have the benefit of sea views as well as being able to enjoy looking out across the fields at the owners cows and horses. The farm is ideally located to allow visitors to explore South Devon as well as Cornwall. We were lucky enough to have very good weather throughout our week so we took advantage of the many walks from the farm along the coastal paths. We ate at the Odd Wheel pub which is a short walk from the farm on a couple of occasions. We found the food to be of good quality and value. Sheila and Robert made us feel very welcome at Traine Farm. We will certainly be back in the future and we are happy to recommend the farm to our family and friends.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Seven family members have just spent a fantastic weekend at Traine Farm. We stayed in 'Anthony' which is a spacious two-storey wing of the owners' farmhouse. Whilst I wouldn't describe the accommodation as luxurious, it is definitely full of warm rustic charm - typically farm-house style. It is large (sleeps up to 10 with two on a sofa-bed in the very large lounge), well equipped and extremely clean and comfortable. My elderly father couldn't make the stairs, so he used the sofa-bed and downstairs shower room. There is no garden as such but there is a raised decked terrace with lovely views over the countryside and down to the sea. Wembury beach was lovely and the rock-pools keep the children amused for hours. It's a lovely, peaceful place to stay, surrounded by chickens, ducks, horses and cows (and pigs soon I believe) and is situated only a mile from the beach and a 20-min drive into Plymouth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.8 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traine Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traine Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Traine Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Traine Farm Traine Road, Plymouth PL9 0EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing