We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel, well worth staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel, well worth staying here.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Duke of Cornwall Hotel in Plymouth is a really good hotel, and a terrific building, very interesting, and built in the days when they really knew how to construct impressive looking hotels. It is situated right in the city centre. Parking is free just round the corner from 4pm to 10am. They also have a car park at the rear of the building. I stayed there in February 2012, and it was a fairly cold night. My room was nice and warm, the bed and all other facilities in my room were great. The breakfast, and the service given to me at breakfast was just superb, and I will definitely be staying here again, it really is one of the best places in Plymouth.
My only problem was the usual one, the Internet just would not work. I tried connecting through the cable, and 'Windows' said the cable was either damaged or unplugged, I also tried the wi-fi. This does allow connection and indicates a good signal, but 'Windows' displayed the usual message, "Little or no Connectivity". I went downstairs and politely asked the very beautiful Polish lady on reception why it was not working, and yet again, receptionists think its the guests fault. They know nothing about me, my ability or that of any other guest, but I must be the stupid one, because I can't connect !
This is not just a problem with this hotel, it happens every week to me, at some hotel, somewhere in Europe.
Anyone staying here, or considering a stay here, needs to bring their own Internet access 'dongle' if they want to connect to the Internet. Fortunately, although they are slow, I have one, and got my work completed.
I will say again, it is a lovely hotel, full of character, very cheap and good value for money, and I will stay here again.

Richard Kaminski.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigga1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Trigga1526,

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry that you experienced problems with our broadband system. We do have a helpline number displayed in the rooms, which is direct to our technical provider. They are often better placed to advise than staff members. I hope that when you next visit you can easily access the system. Once again many thanks for your review.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    361
    189
    76
    38
See reviews for
139
435
44
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here as it is just across the road from the Plymouth Pavillions, we were seeing Billy Connolly so decided it would be perfect and it was, lovely helpful staff, lovely decor, the bar food was really good.

We also visited the gin distllery, the hotel has a discount set up so you get the tickets as a reduced rate, the night porter kindly printed off details about the distllery and gave us details and put under our door, as I said staff really helpful.

The rooms lovely and clean, the breakfast which was included in the room price was great, buffett or hot, I would recommend the hot cooked as it was great very good portions and great service. We will go back as it is also so central for shopping and sight seeing. Lovely lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Marisa0023,

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

P. Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having booked into this hotel due to our normal choice being fully booked i was not over impressed, the location is pretty good and the room was ok, bathroom was nice and big but a bit dated. Not much atmosphere in the hotel, and i dont think i saw one guest in the hotel bar. I believe there are some rooms that have been updated, so maybe if we stay there again we would give that one a go!

Room Tip: ask for one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericajames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Becksibabe,

Thank you for your review. I hope you do choose to stay again and experience one of our many newly refurbished bedrooms.

Thanks again,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our over-night stay was in the very impressive Tower Suite which has views over Plymouth Sound and the City with the added use of a telescope! We decided to book in at The Duke of Cornwall as we had tickets for the Katherin Jenkins show at The Pavillions which is right opposite the hotel so why rush down for the show and then home again afterwards when you can arrive early have a drink and something to eat from the varied Bar Menu before just walking over the road to the show and back again afterwards. After a very comfortable nights sleep in The Tower it is down to enjoy breakfast where you are spoilt for choice! We have stayed at The Duke of Cornwall before and have always been very pleased with our rooms, their pleasant and friendly staff and the food. Since out last stay we noticed the new wonderfully rich deep blue and gold carpet to the entrance and reception, the lounge, bar up the very impressive grand staircase and to the magnificant ballroom which this time was laid up for a function - we had to have a peep - it was very impressive - not many hotels these days have a ballroom and certainly not one of this size. So next time you think of attending something at either The Pavillions or The Theatre Royal or a stay in Plymouth spoil yourselves and book in at The Duke of Cornwall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Maureen H,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and show. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Check in was speedy and we went to our room on the 4th Floor Room 416 was easily one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in,beautifully decorated, a lovely bathroom, comfortable
beds and a very nice sitting area with a wide screen T. V. The Hotel is very convenient if
as we were you are going to a show at The Plymouth Pavillions as it is across the road.
It is a shame they do not do an early diners but you can get bar snacks.Breakfast was 1st class.
All in all we had a brilliant stay all the staff we encountered were excellent.

Room Tip: You can't do better than room 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear angie036,

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and liked room 416, it seems room 416 is becoming a subject of topic on Tripadvisor! We'd agree, it is a great room!

Hopefully we will see you again soon, thanks again.

Regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Room 416 is possibly the most fantastic hotel room I have stayed in! It is huge with fantastic decor and carpet, 2 steps down to a lounge area. Clearly newly decorated - what wonderful wallpaper! Very contemporary Style bathroom with waterfall taps and one huge square shower head! The main staircase is spectacular! At breakfast we were greeted by a wonderful lady who instantly got the measure of our group! Very good choice from the menu. If I have to stay in a hotel in Plymouth again this is the only one for me!! I only hope all rooms are as good as 416!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Spinchin,

Thank-you very much for your great review. We do our very best to provide a first class product and complement that with caring and dedicated staff. It's nice to read that we are 'getting it right'.

Many thanks again and I hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,

P. Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We decided to stay in the Duke of Cornwall because it is in a good location and we like the older style feel of hotels.

Check in was smooth but i didnt feel like the receptionist had much of an idea on dinner when we queried about it.

Room: Newly refurbished. Wallpaper was pink with flowers which wasnt to our personal taste but it was clean and fresh. Not a very good view. (it was the carpark) but it didnt bother us. Good size bathroom with a separate bath and shower. Nice flat screen tv and a digital clock. Beds were comfy.

Food: Dinner included in the price up to the value of £21. However, we were free to mix and match if we had less expensive items. Had a lovely 3 course meal. I asked if one part of the meal was vegetarian and although not sure the waitress kindly checked and even checked if the cheese contained rennet. Very impressed.
The beetroot risotto was gorgeous and i particularly enjoyed the halloumi and med veg main. They ran out of the ice cream that i asked for but i was able to pick another flavour with no bother. The atmosphere was lovely in the ballroom, nice music playing and the waiter and waitress were very attentive but not pushy. A good mix.
Breakfast was a combination of continental and choice of a hot item. Although there was no vegetarian option for the cooked breakfast i was able to pick and choose what i wanted from the main breakfast. Very nice toast, tea and cereal also.

We went out in the evening and as stated the doors are locked. I think it is a good idea and some drunks might stumble in through the rotating doors. We were told to call the bell and shown where it was and the night porter would let us in. This worked well and when we arrived back at 1am he did arrive as promised and let us in with no problems.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and we would come back again. The food was by far the best part and the waitress in particular should be commended for her friendly attitude and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Spinny4,

Thank-you for your review. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and food. I have passed your comments onto the restaurant staff who were delighted to read your review.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,

P.Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
614 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Property: Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing