We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good location for ferry”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Second stay here and was booked through my booking company, so I was a bit dubious but no time to change it. The hotel is perfectly situated for the ferry and about 10 mins drive to the Torpoint ferry. In its day I am sure it was a very grand hotel and has kept may of those features however it still needs to have an uplift. Car Park is always full so you have to park on the road in a residential area, not ideal for families and disabled. The entrance is up steps and stairs inside there is no one to help with luggage so even wheeled cases need to be carried. Reception staff wear fleeces not a proper uniform which gives a poor impression. My room was much better than last time although not a refurbished one the bathroom was so small, you would have struggled if two people using the room. The floor was very creaky and so i was worried about people below me must have been thinking, not a lot i could do really. No duvet but old fashioned blanket and sheets, lots of mains sockets for recharging is good as well as the wired internet.
I ate in the restaurant and found the staff there were fantastic and the food good if a little pricey. You can also eat in the bar and there was a deal of the day on which was cottage pie and a glass of wine for £9 (i think) otherwise I think you could walk into town and find the usual chains.
Thee is a lift to the floors but not sure if there is a disabled entrance.

Room Tip: Check with Reception if you have requirements and ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    347
    187
    71
    37
See reviews for
132
423
41
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed on business and hotel let me park and check in early on day one. Room was a bit small but had everything and was very clean and tidy with a comfy bed .hotel is in excellent position for central Plymouth but not noisy.food pricy but ate in bar and bar staff vey friendly.breakfast fine too.would stay again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Duke of Cornwall Hotel in Plymouth is a really good hotel, and a terrific building, very interesting, and built in the days when they really knew how to construct impressive looking hotels. It is situated right in the city centre. Parking is free just round the corner from 4pm to 10am. They also have a car park at the rear of the building. I stayed there in February 2012, and it was a fairly cold night. My room was nice and warm, the bed and all other facilities in my room were great. The breakfast, and the service given to me at breakfast was just superb, and I will definitely be staying here again, it really is one of the best places in Plymouth.
My only problem was the usual one, the Internet just would not work. I tried connecting through the cable, and 'Windows' said the cable was either damaged or unplugged, I also tried the wi-fi. This does allow connection and indicates a good signal, but 'Windows' displayed the usual message, "Little or no Connectivity". I went downstairs and politely asked the very beautiful Polish lady on reception why it was not working, and yet again, receptionists think its the guests fault. They know nothing about me, my ability or that of any other guest, but I must be the stupid one, because I can't connect !
This is not just a problem with this hotel, it happens every week to me, at some hotel, somewhere in Europe.
Anyone staying here, or considering a stay here, needs to bring their own Internet access 'dongle' if they want to connect to the Internet. Fortunately, although they are slow, I have one, and got my work completed.
I will say again, it is a lovely hotel, full of character, very cheap and good value for money, and I will stay here again.

Richard Kaminski.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigga1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Trigga1526,

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry that you experienced problems with our broadband system. We do have a helpline number displayed in the rooms, which is direct to our technical provider. They are often better placed to advise than staff members. I hope that when you next visit you can easily access the system. Once again many thanks for your review.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here as it is just across the road from the Plymouth Pavillions, we were seeing Billy Connolly so decided it would be perfect and it was, lovely helpful staff, lovely decor, the bar food was really good.

We also visited the gin distllery, the hotel has a discount set up so you get the tickets as a reduced rate, the night porter kindly printed off details about the distllery and gave us details and put under our door, as I said staff really helpful.

The rooms lovely and clean, the breakfast which was included in the room price was great, buffett or hot, I would recommend the hot cooked as it was great very good portions and great service. We will go back as it is also so central for shopping and sight seeing. Lovely lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Marisa0023,

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

P. Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having booked into this hotel due to our normal choice being fully booked i was not over impressed, the location is pretty good and the room was ok, bathroom was nice and big but a bit dated. Not much atmosphere in the hotel, and i dont think i saw one guest in the hotel bar. I believe there are some rooms that have been updated, so maybe if we stay there again we would give that one a go!

Room Tip: ask for one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericajames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Becksibabe,

Thank you for your review. I hope you do choose to stay again and experience one of our many newly refurbished bedrooms.

Thanks again,

P. Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our over-night stay was in the very impressive Tower Suite which has views over Plymouth Sound and the City with the added use of a telescope! We decided to book in at The Duke of Cornwall as we had tickets for the Katherin Jenkins show at The Pavillions which is right opposite the hotel so why rush down for the show and then home again afterwards when you can arrive early have a drink and something to eat from the varied Bar Menu before just walking over the road to the show and back again afterwards. After a very comfortable nights sleep in The Tower it is down to enjoy breakfast where you are spoilt for choice! We have stayed at The Duke of Cornwall before and have always been very pleased with our rooms, their pleasant and friendly staff and the food. Since out last stay we noticed the new wonderfully rich deep blue and gold carpet to the entrance and reception, the lounge, bar up the very impressive grand staircase and to the magnificant ballroom which this time was laid up for a function - we had to have a peep - it was very impressive - not many hotels these days have a ballroom and certainly not one of this size. So next time you think of attending something at either The Pavillions or The Theatre Royal or a stay in Plymouth spoil yourselves and book in at The Duke of Cornwall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Maureen H,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and show. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

P Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Check in was speedy and we went to our room on the 4th Floor Room 416 was easily one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in,beautifully decorated, a lovely bathroom, comfortable
beds and a very nice sitting area with a wide screen T. V. The Hotel is very convenient if
as we were you are going to a show at The Plymouth Pavillions as it is across the road.
It is a shame they do not do an early diners but you can get bar snacks.Breakfast was 1st class.
All in all we had a brilliant stay all the staff we encountered were excellent.

Room Tip: You can't do better than room 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear angie036,

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and liked room 416, it seems room 416 is becoming a subject of topic on Tripadvisor! We'd agree, it is a great room!

Hopefully we will see you again soon, thanks again.

Regards,

P.Adams
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Property: Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing