We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night before and after my wedding. The night before the bar stayed open late for my husband to be to arrive. The day of the wedding staff where very helpful and eager to help me. On the second night the porter was very helpful and considerate.Throughly enjoyed my stay.
only negatives a is some of the decorneeds iimproving and some staff could do with extra training on dealing with the public. Would recommend the hotel, but use your own judgement.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojobatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Visited here on the 14th January booked through work. I didn't expect the Ritz but did expect that the room would not look like it had been decorated in the 70s complete with threadbare sheet, blanket and bedspread complete with a fetching stain! I couldn't work out if the kettle had 'yellowed' because of age or because it was grubby. Whatever the reason it certainly wasn't appealing. The team and coffee were stored in a rusty tin sat on what looked like an old school dinner tray. The bathroom was ok if not a little dated and shower pressure was fine after you managed to get the hot water to run through. I had a continental breakfast that I felt was expensive at £10.50 but due to the location I couldn't see anywhere else I could have eaten. The road near the hotel was noisy and the 'boy racers' could be heard through the 'single glazed' windows at the front of the hotel.When you arrive you'll probably be impressed with the entrance and sweeping stair case but things change as you go onto the room landings.. Unless it's only the 'cheap business rate' rooms that are ' the pits!

Stayed: January 2014
5  Thank Browsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stay regularly, rates vary, always good value, sometimes excellent value. Large traditional hotel, great breakfast, regrettably no leisure facilities. I always eat out so can't comment on the dining though choices look fine. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: If a single room is booked you will probably end up with a single bedded small room not a double for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john56ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear john56ish

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that you find your stays good value. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

All the best for 2014.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel was a fabulous surprise.
Having a very competitive room rate I was not expecting great things, but the room was large, comfortable and had a full sized bath.
The public areas are plush with a luxurious feel, reflecting it's glorious history of being the hotel to stay in between a steam train journey to Plymouth and an Atlantic voyage on the Queen Mary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear CazGlos

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Many thanks,

P. Adams
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I booked this hotel primarily for the location and the price, and the fact anything is a better alternative to some cheaper chain hotels nearby. The hotel itself is a gorgeous old building which manages to hold onto it's history whilst providing the modern technologies we all want. The breakfast was spot on (I had full English), the staff were helpful and friendly. The room (twin) was clean, well decorated and very warm, which given the time of year was very welcome. The WiFi worked perfectly. The only thing that let it down for me, and its a personal preference was the bedding. I prefer a simple duvet; the hotel goes for the sheets, blankets and bedspread. I also spent a few hours in the bar downstairs. A lovely place to sit and relax with a drink. Would I stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: I had a room to the back of the hotel, which overlooked the car park and we were on second floor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Claire V

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you found the hotel to be to your satisfaction. We strive to provide a first class product for our guests with all the modern convenience you would expect. We are currently 'deploying' duvets throughout the hotel and many rooms already have duvets instead of the traditional double sheet and blanket. We hope to have the whole building complete in the next few months. As I'm sure you can appreciate, we've got quite a few beds! Next time you book if you mention your preference we can make sure you are in one of the rooms already with duvets. If it's later in the year then it won't matter as we will have finished the 'roll out'

Many thanks again,

P. Adams
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here after an event at the Pavillions, it's a great hotel and perfectly located for the Pavillions and exploring the rest of the city. The room was excellent - extremely comfortable, a good size and a lovely hot, powerful shower. Breakfast in the morning was also great, a large selection of fruits/cereals etc and a yummy full english. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_Holbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Claire_Holbrook

Thank you for your kind review. I hope we can welcome you back to 'The Duke' in the near future.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Warm fluffy towels in the bathroom, extremely comfy bed and excellent breakfast to start the day off well. Stayed one night with friends and as usual the staff were efficient and friendly and I had the best nights sleep in a long time. On reading a previous review I would just like to stay that the
Internet was fast and worked during my whole stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Drake186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofCornwallHotel, Manager at Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Sam_Drake186254

Thank you for your kind review. So glad the internet was working well for you. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

P. Adams
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing