We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night as we got a good deal online for a standard room for £50.

The building is great and the rooms keep the feeling you are in somewhere special.

It is in a great location near everything you need.

The bed was broke in our room though but you could not tell until you sat on it so I don't blame the staff for not noticing.

They changed our room straight away with no fuss and were very helpful.

Great night sleep and great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jayrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely stay at the Hotel, stayed for a wedding @ Stonehouse Barracks and a family get together on Sunday lunch time. Beautiful room, comfy bed, clean tidy and everything you need. Decor is well done and the staff warm, friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Lisa in reception today was very helpful and David looked after the ten of us for lunch.....even sorting out the deserts which we really enjoyed. All the breakfast staff were excellent....sorry didn't make a note of your names.
Lovely Hotel and great team work....will be back.

Room Tip: Ask reception to advise you.....they know what would suit your needs. Great to have a porter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just spent two nights at the Duke of Cornwall, this is our third visit this year.
We had a lovely room on the third floor, but it was a very noisy room . Not the hotels fault other guests been very loud. Told reception who moved us to a beautiful room on the top floor, Would like to mention Chloe because she was fantastic. Parents came over for the evening and we ate in the hotel dining room , had not eaten here before. I will be back again just for the dining experience, food was fantastic. so over all a great stay yet again. Just a shame Plymouth did not win.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel over the Easter holidays. The last time we stayed here was on our wedding night some years ago. We did not expect the same room or anything like it but the room we got was very small with the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. The hotel is in need of major repair as the wood around the windows and sills in our room were rotten. We have stayed in the Jury's inn before while getting together with family but wanted something a bit better this time.

The reception staff were not very welcoming nor was the concierge who saw my wife struggling with our case while I parked the car way up the street.

Breakfast was good as was the service. I really would like to stay again here as it has lovely memories for us but would like a bigger room next time.

Thee was a wedding on while we were there but it did not affect the service we had at the bar or in the breakfast room

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A fascinating building with odd shaped rooms and nooks and crannies. We stayed one night in room 510 at the back .Very quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. Good central location for the Barbican - and the railway station. Very clean but paintwork a little tired and style a little dated. It could be a very luxurious country house style but then the prices would not be so reasonable (£89 for two B and B on a saturday) However this was more than made up for by its character and the welcoming and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms near the old fashioned lift will be noisy as will those at the front and on lower floors. Traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quimper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,571 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing