We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for a four night leisure break on Dinner Bed and Breakfast, and had a wonderful stay in Plymouth. All central shops and theatres are almost on the doorstep. Hotel is in the grand style but all mod cons. Staff were very helpful and attentive especially the dining staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, even when busy with a coach party also staying in the hotel. Our room had a marvellous view of the ferry dock at Millbay and the evening entertainment included watching the antics of the caravans trying to reverse in the ferry car park a quarter of a mile distant. Also one could lie in bed and see the Eddystone light house 14 miles out at sea by day and by night.
The food was very good and our only criticism was; having booked for dinner in the package there was extra to pay, unless you chose from the same 3 main courses every night (as the menu did not change if you stayed within the £21.50 allowed) If you paid extra you could eat any of the meals on the menu.
The car park is pot luck but our luck was in. There is free evening parking in the road at the rear and there seemed plenty of room there.
Would there have no hesitation staying again, although we could not guarantee having so good a view from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel as we had been told the location was good. Checked trip advisor considered the mixed reviews, but decided to book anyway. We arrived around 1pm and parked our car in the hotel car park. This was a bonus as there was no extra charge for parking, so our car remained there for the duration of our stay. Shops and the Barbican are all within walking distance. The hotel has quite a lot of history and does look good from outside. The journey from the car park was not so impressive, you walk across metal walkways to the back entrance and if this was your first impression of the hotel, you would be very unimpressed. Entry was via a locked door which was opened remotely from Reception. As we were an hour early we were very grateful to be allocated our room, we were meeting friends in town so we just dropped our bags and went out. First impressions of this room were not good. There was about a 2in gap under one side of the door which didn't look good, one of the white duvet covers had a pink stain on it, the carpet had lots of dirty marks and the dressing table had too many ring stains to count. The bedside lights looked as if they'd seen better days and the tin containing the tea and coffee was all rusty, I'm sure if I could have been bothered I would have turned up lots more faults.
When I'd had lunch and had time to think about the shabby state of the room, I decided to go to Reception and request a room change, the staff behind Reception were very apologetic and without hesitation offered to change my room for another on the same floor. This was a newly refurbished room, decorated to a good standard, sadly though despite mats being available for hot drinks, previous guests had already carelessly marked the furniture. Although we overlooked a road the room was quiet and we slept well. We did not have breakfast, we chose to go to a cafe on the Harbour which was very nice. If in Plymouth would I stay here again, I'm not sure the interiors were quite tired, but the staff were very nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RosieM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently visited the Duke of Cornwall hotel on a business trip and stayed for one night having both evening meal and breakfast here.
The hotel is located close to the Hoe and away from the main roads so there is not much road noise. I did notice however that it is located close to the Plymouth Pavilions which may make it a bit busy and/or noisy if there was a large event being held here.
I travelled to Plymouth by train and the hotel is a 15 to 20 minute walk from the station. I believe the hotel has a car park as well but those wishing to use this facility would have to confirm this. On arrival, The Duke of Cornwall has a very impressive façade (if a little 'tired') and the interior does not fail to impress either having the spaciousness and grandeur of a Victorian hotel. For those interested in architecture and decorative interiors, this could be the venue for you as opposed to a more modern style of building.
The staff working the reception desk were very friendly and helpful. My room was on the first floor and to the side of the hotel and held two single beds. It was spacious well furnished with two armchairs a large flat screen television and tea and coffee making facilities, the bedding was clean. and the the bathroom included a shower and bath.
The dining room was also grand affair with high ceilings and windows and a domed ceiling holding a large chandelier giving an impressive overall effect. The maître d, ran the dining room very efficiently and I was shown to my table with the minimum of fuss, the waiting staff were also very polite. In my opinion, the menu was a little limited for choice and may not suit everyone, however the dishes were freshly cooked and very tasty. Taking into account, the surroundings and the standard of the food, I would say that this was one of the best three course dinners I have enjoyed for quite some time. I had breakfast here the following morning but alas due to an early departure, was unable to have the English breakfast having instead the healthier option of cereal and fruit from the buffet.
If you have the time (and the inclination), investigate the history of the hotel and you will find that it was built to service the railway station that originally stood on the site that is now the Plymouth Pavilion. On the first floor landing there were some photos arranged in a small display of the hotel and station around the turn of the century.
A previous occupant of my room (108) stated that it suffered from noise from the extractor fans and these can be heard in the room particularly if the windows are left open or ajar. These extractors seem to be used by the kitchen but were not unduly noisy although you would be conscious of the running. Personally, I did sleep well in this room, admittedly in the bed furthest from the window.
I would consider using this hotel again if I visited Plymouth and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side of the building are quieter and have the evening sunshine as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before catching a ferry to France. Nice hotel, staff friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. The decor is in need of some TLC but that if you can see past that it's a comfortable and reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This review very late as i have only just joined trip advisor, but i just wanted to say what a wonderful time we had last new years eve. We decided to stay the night and attend the new year dinner with entertainment and we weren't dissapointed. We felt really special with excellent service and food and very good entertainment. It was lovely to see the new year in at this hotel and i hope that a similiar arrangement is available this year. Thankyou

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely stay - staff very helpful and professional - restaurant area and breakfast excellent . Our family room very spacious but 4th bed( sofa) not comfortable and decor a bit dated and worn. My parents had a deluxe room which was beautiful but pricey.
All in all a good stay and would return .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for one night after arriving on the ferry drom Santander. It was an easy walk from the ferry terminal and check in was quite speedy considering we arrived at the same time as a German coach party. The room on the top floor was spacious with a decent bathroom but no hair drier.The 4 poster bed looked good but was surprisingly uncomfortable, can't quite put my finger on why but it was. The restaurant was in a lovely dining room and the food and drink were good and reasonably priced, breakfast was very good, served in the same room. Downside was the noise in our room which was underneath I guess the staff quarters and bathroom. There was someone on the move all night and it was loud in our room.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor, noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRASSM0NKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,573 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing